General questions regarding Image-Based Automation

Ask general questions here.
tester1000

General questions regarding Image-Based Automation

Post by tester1000 » Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:31 am

Hi all,

I'm really new to TA and I have a few issues regarding an automation project I'm working on. Basically, the AUT generates a lot of charts, and I'd like the script to validate that these charts are correct. As an example, I've provided a snapshot of one of the charts it generates just to give you a general idea of what it is I'm trying to validate. The most obvious method for me was to simply use an image comparison with an accuracy of about 0.98, combined with various preprocessing options to validate the correctness of the charts. However, when I change the resolution of my monitor the image comparison breaks, and I'm left wondering whether using image based comparison to validate charts is even reliable enough to use.

My AUT offers the ability to extract the underlying data from a chart to the clipboard, so I can easily validate that the data is correct. It's the visualisation of data that I want to test, and without some form of image based automation, I feel like this is impossible. Any thoughts?

In short, what is the best way to validate charts and graphs?
Attachments
chart.rxsnp
(4.86 MiB) Downloaded 3 times

Stub

Re: General questions regarding Image-Based Automation

Post by Stub » Wed Jul 24, 2019 1:24 pm

Image comparisons are very delicate and thus prone to breaking. I use them on our AUT where I want to validate appearance too. Lots of data can also be acquired by other means, so I usually try to minimise any image-based comparisons. IIRC I think I'm using a comparison accuracy of about 0.999 or maybe even 0.9999, I can't quite recall. It needs just a little slop to account for inconsequential random differences here at least.