Global parameters not updated in report

Bug reports.
Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Global parameters not updated in report

Post by Florian » Wed Dec 18, 2013 11:16 am

Hello,

I have a weird issue with Ranorex report.
I change the value of parameters inside code modules like that:

Code: Select all

TestSuite.Current.Parameters["CloseBrowser"+server]="no";
But in the report, the values are not written.

I can use the new values inside the test suite, but I need to get the values of the previous file, parsing the XML.

Is it a known issue?
Attachments
ranorex_report.PNG
ranorex_report.PNG (3.58 KiB) Viewed 876 times

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Global parameters not updated in report

Post by krstcs » Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:58 pm

I believe that the global parameters get "saved/published" in the report before the test case/module is executed.

My guess is that you are changing the global parameters inside the current module, which means it will not be picked up by the report because the report already has the values that were passed to the test case/module.

Essentially, the report is telling you what the parameter was when the test case started. You will need to set the new value before the test case you want to use the value in.

The other option is to print the value using a "Report" action inside the module.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Global parameters not updated in report

Post by Florian » Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:12 pm

I've just checked the previous Report.
On the 18th of November, the parameters had values. The following day, the parametrs are empty.
I guess I upgraded my Ranorex installation, but I can't remember what were the versions.

I use now a "Report" action inside a module to parse the XML file but it would be easier with the parameters.

User avatar
BernhardS
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:35 pm

Re: Global parameters not updated in report

Post by BernhardS » Thu Dec 19, 2013 4:36 pm

Hello Florian,

Unfortunately only the default values of the global parameters are reported by Ranorex. If you change the values during the runtime it will have no effect in the report.

Regards,
Bernhard