Grid Recognisation

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
BasantKumar
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:51 pm

Grid Recognisation

Post by BasantKumar » Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:19 am

Hi,

I am trying to recognise window grid through Ranorex Spy but it recognises only Pane control type container.
I am not able to see anything in this specific container (cannot see rows or cells)

Attached is a snapshot of an example of where we use Grid control.

Please let me know it is setting related issues or something else.

Thanks,
Basant
Attachments
GridRecognisation.rxsnp
Grid Recognisation
(158.94 KiB) Downloaded 125 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Grid Recognisation

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:15 pm

Hi Basant,

Thank you for the snapshot.
It seems that Ranorex was not able to load the assemblies containing the definition of this control.
Please use the 64Bit version of Spy and try to track the elements in the grid again.

Kind regards,

Markus(S)
.
Image

BasantKumar
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:51 pm

Re: Grid Recognisation

Post by BasantKumar » Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:43 am

Hi

We are using 64bit spy and Ranorex verson 4.1.3. still facing the same issue. Even it's not reconginizing grid, only it's spying pane control type. Can you please cross check once again and suggest the solution.

Thanks
Basant Kumar

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Grid Recognisation

Post by Support Team » Thu Apr 17, 2014 3:44 pm

Hi Basant,

Thank you for the response.
Unfortunately I was not able to reproduce this issue on my machine.
Is it possible for you to send us your application or a sample in which this problem appears?
If it is also possible for you, please update your Ranorex. Our latest version is 5.0.2.
Please send us the application by mail if it is possible for you. Our mail address: [email protected]

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image

BasantKumar
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:51 pm

Re: Grid Recognisation

Post by BasantKumar » Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:03 pm

Hi Markus,

Could you please validate the object properties between your identified grid container with my shared snapshot?
Please let me know if there is any difference in property of your application and my application.

I am facing similar kind of issues to identify the inside object of another pane control type( Pivot container) in same application.

Please see my attached snapshot for Pivot container.

Thanks,
Basant
Attachments
Pivot Container.rxsnp
(108.41 KiB) Downloaded 97 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Grid Recognisation

Post by Support Team » Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:37 pm

Hi Basant,

Unfortunately it is hard to analyze this issue on our side without having your application.
Please try to add your Application to the GDI Capture List. You can find more information about the GDI capture list in our User Guide by following this link: User Guide

The element is in my application recognized as Table‘DataGrid’
Please have a look at the attached screenshots.
Table_Data_Grid.jpg
Table_Data_Grid.jpg (24.54 KiB) Viewed 1165 times
Table_data_Grid_Properties.jpg
Table_data_Grid_Properties.jpg (37.26 KiB) Viewed 1165 times
May I ask you to create and send us sample application to [email protected].
This will help us to analyze the problem on our machines.

Regards,
Markus(S)
.
Image

BasantKumar
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:51 pm

Re: Grid Recognisation

Post by BasantKumar » Mon Apr 28, 2014 2:17 pm

Hi Markus,


Thanks for your quick reply.
I have added element/application to the GDI Capture List and it is now working fine.

I am now able to identify grid and row/cell.

Thanks,
Basant

BasantKumar
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:51 pm

Re: Grid Recognisation

Post by BasantKumar » Thu Jul 17, 2014 1:19 pm

Hi Markus,

I am facing the below issues while automating our Application using Ranorex,
Application is developed with WPF Controls and DevExpress Controls.

1. There are expand button inside Devex Grid Cell to populate the other description. we are not able to identify these expand button by using Ranorex.
2. It takes a long time (more then 5mins) to recognise the Devx grid cell.

PFA snapshot for Grid Cell control.

Can you please help us one how to overcome these issues.

Thanks,
Basant
Attachments
GridCell.rxsnp
Grid cell control
(98.69 KiB) Downloaded 68 times

BasantKumar
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:51 pm

Re: Grid Recognisation

Post by BasantKumar » Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:25 am

Hi Markus,

I am facing the below issues while automating our Application using Ranorex,
Application is developed with WPF Controls and DevExpress Controls.

1. There are expand button inside Devex Grid Cell to populate the other description. we are not able to identify these expand button by using Ranorex.
2. It takes a long time (more then 5mins) to recognise the Devx grid cell.

PFA snapshot for Grid Cell control.

Can you please help us one how to overcome these issues.

Thanks,
Basant[/quote]

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Grid Recognisation

Post by Support Team » Tue Jul 22, 2014 1:21 pm

Hi Basant,

Sorry for the slow response.

In order to identify objects Ranorex needs implemented UIAutomation. Often custom 3rd party controls such as from DevExpress are not built with UIAutomation in mind.

Please check if Microsoft Inspect is able to track the elements. Inspect is installed as part of the overall set of tools in the Windows Software Development Kit (SDK).

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image