GUI Syncronisation

Ask general questions here.
atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

GUI Syncronisation

Post by atom » Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:11 pm

Hiya

When we say click on a button "Calculate", the AUT is locked for about 3 minutes
During those three minutes the following happens:

- The mouse pointer flickers between normal and hour glass
- The Process.Responding method returns True sometimes

These means we can't safely base any syncronisation on the above two methods.
Is there a real safe method to know if the AUT GUI is ready to accept new keystrokes etc.

Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: GUI Syncronisation

Post by Support Team » Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:39 pm

How does a (human) user know that the application is ready for input again? Is there any UI element saying that the calculation has finished? If so, you can just wait for this element to appear by using a FindSingle call with a long timeout (> 3 minutes)!

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: GUI Syncronisation

Post by atom » Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:49 pm

Hiya

Unfortunately there are no GUI "clues" to know the operation is complete!
Ive written a function now, we set a global time-out like 10minutes, then divide that up into 5 second
blocks, then within each block each second perform the above tests, then get the over-all result for each block, if its not responsive go on to next block, until timeout!

Quite messy!

Cheers

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: GUI Syncronisation

Post by Support Team » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:06 am

The CPU load is another "unreliable" indicator. As far as I know, there is no (general) reliable method for knowing an application is idle, unless the application provides such functionality itself somehow :?
atom wrote:Unfortunately there are no GUI "clues" to know the operation is complete!
How do users know then if calculation succeeded? Seems to me like some pretty bad usability ...

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image