Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Ask general questions here.
SanMan
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by SanMan » Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:54 am

Hi,

how can I get rid of this infobar?

Here: using-arguments-and-or-preferences-for- ... 11212.html

is some info about it(?), but where should I paste this code?

SanMan
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by SanMan » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:17 am

Another question here:

Report.Log(ReportLevel.Info, "Website", "Opening web site 'http://www.ranorex.com' with browser 'Chrome' in maximized mode .", new RecordItemIndex(0));
Host.Current.OpenBrowser("http://www.ranorex.com", "Chrome", "", false, true, false, false, false, true);
Delay.Milliseconds(0);

Should this open Chrome window in maximized size?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by odklizec » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:44 am

Hi,

As for the first issue, you need to paste it in the configuration area of webdriver endpoint. Check the user guide:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/web ... gurations/

As for the second issue, I'm not quite sure OpenBrowser can control the browser size (in case of webdriver endpoint)? Just use --start-maximized parameter in args: section (as shown in the configuration from link in your initial post).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

SanMan
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by SanMan » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:58 am

Hi odklizec,

I have not added an endpoint before and I do not have had any problems with this info bar.

I am now using Chrome version:
Google Chrome is up to date
Version 69.0.3497.100 (Official Build) (64-bit)

(When tried with Firefox, there was not any infobar about "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software")

And just update to Ranorex 8.3.0

Is it a must to create an endpoint? Doing web testing on Win10 PC

For the second issue I just created a new project and one recording
- Open Browser; Maximized=true
=> this did not open the browser on full size

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by odklizec » Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:17 am

No, it's definitely not required to create endpoint for "normal" Chrome testing. From your question, I assumed you are already using webdriver? :) In your case, it should be enough to set the OpenBrowser action to open the browser maximized and use --disable-infobars as an argument.
ChromeArgs.png
ChromeArgs.png (19.93 KiB) Viewed 168 times
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

SanMan
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by SanMan » Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:24 pm

Hi odklizec,

thank you so much for your answer.

I now did also install SeleniumServer and used webdriver. Have to study it more but it looks very promising indeed.

When I tried to run on "normal" Chrome testing and made this setting:
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (9.54 KiB) Viewed 163 times
Browser did not open in maximum size and there was also this "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software" info bar.

When I did open a page "with webdriver", there was no infobar and page opened in maximum size.

Can you say why I get this warning on report:

00:01.839 Warn User

Open browser setting 'instrument' not supported for this host.

Console shows this:

15:18:08.261 INFO [ActiveSessionFactory.apply] - Capabilities are: {
"acceptInsecureCerts": true,
"browserName": "chrome",
"chromeOptions": {
"prefs": {
"browser.enable_spellchecking": false,
"browser.enable_autospellcorrect": false,
"spellcheck.use_spelling_service": "",
"spellcheck.dictionary": "",
"translate.enabled": false
},
"args": [
"--disable-infobars --start-maximized"
]
},
"platform": "WIN10",
"version": "58.0"
}
15:18:08.261 INFO [ActiveSessionFactory.lambda$apply$11] - Matched factory org.openqa.selenium.remote.server.ServicedSession$Factory (provider: org.openqa.selenium.chrome.ChromeDriverService)
Starting ChromeDriver 2.42.591088 (7b2b2dca23cca0862f674758c9a3933e685c27d5) on port 36754
Only local connections are allowed.
15:18:11.815 INFO [ProtocolHandshake.createSession] - Detected dialect: OSS
15:18:12.158 INFO [RemoteSession$Factory.lambda$performHandshake$0] - Started new session 3277ae35e69b2267f83bb28b2b364b62 (org.openqa.selenium.chrome.ChromeDriverService)
2018-10-15 15:18:16.780:WARN:osjs.HttpChannel:qtp283318938-18: /wd/hub/session/3277ae35e69b2267f83bb28b2b364b62/execute
java.lang.IllegalStateException: Committed
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.HttpChannel.resetBuffer(HttpChannel.java:841)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.HttpOutput.resetBuffer(HttpOutput.java:928)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.Response.resetBuffer(Response.java:1312)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.Response.resetForForward(Response.java:1305)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.Response.reset(Response.java:1244)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.Response.reset(Response.java:1239)
at org.openqa.selenium.remote.server.WebDriverServlet.handle(WebDriverServlet.java:265)
at org.openqa.selenium.remote.server.WebDriverServlet.doPost(WebDriverServlet.java:169)
at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:707)
at org.openqa.selenium.remote.server.WebDriverServlet.service(WebDriverServlet.java:129)
at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:790)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.servlet.ServletHolder.handle(ServletHolder.java:860)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.servlet.ServletHandler.doHandle(ServletHandler.java:535)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.handler.ScopedHandler.handle(ScopedHandler.java:143)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.security.SecurityHandler.handle(SecurityHandler.java:548)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.handler.HandlerWrapper.handle(HandlerWrapper.java:132)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.handler.ScopedHandler.nextHandle(ScopedHandler.java:190)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.handler.ContextHandler.doHandle(ContextHandler.java:1253)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.handler.ScopedHandler.nextScope(ScopedHandler.java:168)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.servlet.ServletHandler.doScope(ServletHandler.java:473)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.handler.ScopedHandler.nextScope(ScopedHandler.java:166)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.handler.ContextHandler.doScope(ContextHandler.java:1155)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.handler.ScopedHandler.handle(ScopedHandler.java:141)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.handler.HandlerWrapper.handle(HandlerWrapper.java:132)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.Server.handle(Server.java:530)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.HttpChannel.handle(HttpChannel.java:347)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.server.HttpConnection.onFillable(HttpConnection.java:256)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.io.AbstractConnection$ReadCallback.succeeded(AbstractConnection.java:279)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.io.FillInterest.fillable(FillInterest.java:102)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.io.ChannelEndPoint$2.run(ChannelEndPoint.java:124)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.util.thread.strategy.EatWhatYouKill.doProduce(EatWhatYouKill.java:247)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.util.thread.strategy.EatWhatYouKill.produce(EatWhatYouKill.java:140)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.util.thread.strategy.EatWhatYouKill.run(EatWhatYouKill.java:131)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.util.thread.ReservedThreadExecutor$ReservedThread.run(ReservedThreadExecutor.java:382)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.util.thread.QueuedThreadPool.runJob(QueuedThreadPool.java:708)
at org.seleniumhq.jetty9.util.thread.QueuedThreadPool$2.run(QueuedThreadPool.java:626)
at java.base/java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:844)
[1539606066.752][WARNING]: Timed out connecting to Chrome, retrying...

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by odklizec » Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:38 pm

I'm afraid, I can't help you with webdriver, because I'm not using it. I once tried it, but when I found there is no way to control native dialogs (e.g. login forms) I quickly left this area. Also debugging issues found via endpoints is much more complicated.
I just don't see any advantage for my tests. Only disadvantages and limitations, but of course, it's just me and my tests ;)

Just one thing. The instrumentation error in report is caused by this OpenBrowser parameter:
instrument.png
instrument.png (46.34 KiB) Viewed 153 times
Just set this option to False. This option is only useful for standalone browsers (i.e. for testing outside endpoints).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

SanMan
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by SanMan » Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:08 am

Hi odklizec,

I have to think about what are the advanced to use webdriver.

I still have this problem with info bar and maximized mode:

00:05.776 Info Website
Jump to item
Opening web site 'http://www.ranorex.com' with browser 'Chrome' in maximized mode (with arguments --disable-infobars).

Is there something else I need to do to get rid of this info bar?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by odklizec » Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:03 am

Hi,

As mentioned, to control the browser size and to disable chrome infobars, for Chrome started via webdriver endpoint, you must use the configuration mentioned here:
using-arguments-and-or-preferences-for- ... 11212.html
OpenBrowser arguments does not work with endpoint.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

SanMan
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by SanMan » Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:59 am

Hi,

I created a new project and made one recording (Open browser)

I did not use endpoint. (used Desktop:localhost)

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by odklizec » Tue Oct 16, 2018 9:15 am

So what's the problem exactly? Ranorex does not open Chrome (locally) with maximized window and it still shows the info bar? I just tried it myself and the OpenBrowser works as expected for me. Chrome window is maximized and the infobar is gone. I would suggest to uninstall Ranorex and install it again.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

SanMan
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by SanMan » Wed Oct 17, 2018 5:31 am

Hi,

To get it work, I needed to set :

Disable the option “Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is closed”

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Hide "Chrome is being controlled by automated test software"

Post by odklizec » Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:46 am

True, I have this pesky Chrome option off on all my machines, so I already forgot about it ;) Nice to hear you found the solution.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration