Highlight element feature

Bug reports.
testsherpa
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 7:51 pm

Highlight element feature

Post by testsherpa » Fri Dec 11, 2009 8:31 pm

I'm a new user evaluating your product. The highlight element feature seems to function somewhat erratically in that it does not always seem to highlight the element requested. This seems to be the case whether the object is flex or some other php object. Is highlight element a new feature? I queried your bug reports and did not find any info related to my question.
Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Highlight element feature

Post by Support Team » Fri Dec 11, 2009 8:53 pm

Could you please specify in detail where you experience that issue? With which application and technology?
When you say "highlight element feature", do you mean the red or the green rectangle surrounding the UI element? (red = while tracking; green = highlights elements in repository)

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

testsherpa
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: Highlight element feature

Post by testsherpa » Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:00 pm

In the repository widow, right click on an items path and picking 'highlight element'.

This is primarily a php/flex portal, though there are are few java portlets.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Highlight element feature

Post by Support Team » Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:05 pm

And what issue are you facing when you click on "Highlight Element"? Is nothing highlighted at all? Or the wrong element? Please, try to describe the problem as detailed as you can, only that way we can be able to reproduce and fix it.

Please, post the repository and tell us the element you're having trouble with. Is this a public portal, so we can try to reproduce the issue on it? If not, please also provide us a snapshot of the application (see http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c2072) or a sample application that can be used to reproduce your problem.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

testsherpa
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: Highlight element feature

Post by testsherpa » Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:03 pm

When I right click on the element path in the repository and pick highlight element, a "searching for elements" popup is launched yet it does not find the requested element; the popup remains until canceled.

This is not a public portal and i don't feel comfortable sending the repository as we are startup venture.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Highlight element feature

Post by Support Team » Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:20 pm

testsherpa wrote:When I right click on the element path in the repository and pick highlight element, a "searching for elements" popup is launched yet it does not find the requested element; the popup remains until canceled.
But the selected element is currently visible when you do that, right?
Does the repository item work when used in a recording or in code?
Could you post your Ranorex version and operating system (32/64 bit)?
testsherpa wrote:This is not a public portal and i don't feel comfortable sending the repository as we are startup venture.
Understood, could you instead compile a sample application with which you can reproduce the error? Or could you just post the corresponding repository, or at least the repository item in question and its parent folders?

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

testsherpa
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: Highlight element feature

Post by testsherpa » Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:44 pm

Yes, the repository item is totally visible and, yes, the repository item does work when used in the recording.
I'm using Ranorex Studio, V 2.2.1.7599, win xp, 32 bit.
As for posting the repository, I will have to clearance from da boss...I'll get back to you on that.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Highlight element feature

Post by Support Team » Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:32 pm

And could you just post the absolute path of the item that fails to highlight, i.e. the path of the item and the paths of all of its parent folders? That should not disclose much of your application - you can also replace attribute values with fake data; e.g.:
/form[@title='MyApplication'] --> /form[@title='XXX']

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image