How can I make sure that I always in the right web site?

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
cywong
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 5:23 pm

How can I make sure that I always in the right web site?

Post by cywong » Mon Aug 09, 2010 5:32 pm

Hello,

How can I make sure that I always in the right web site for my automation?
Sometime the web site address could not identify the web site that I need to test.

example

page 1: https://my.abc.com/en/
page 2: https://my.abc.com/en/

page 1 and page 2 could have the same web site address.
How could I identify it is page 1 or page 2?

I still haven't have time to go though the API.
Do you have API for web site identification?

Did the tools can detect on lost connection page?

What should I do to detect the fault web site and restart the automation in the fastest ways?

Thanks,

Best Regards,
cywong

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: How can I make sure that I always in the right web site?

Post by Ciege » Mon Aug 09, 2010 8:35 pm

You need to use the DOM object of the browser which should be unique between the two different browsers even if the URL is the same.
Do some investigation of using the DOM and that should solve your issue.

http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... sting.html
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

cywong
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 5:23 pm

Re: How can I make sure that I always in the right web site?

Post by cywong » Mon Aug 09, 2010 8:38 pm

I will get back to you soon after I have try.