How can I pause test for PopupWhatcher to finish?

Ask general questions here.
User avatar
felixk91
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:16 pm

How can I pause test for PopupWhatcher to finish?

Post by felixk91 » Fri May 01, 2020 4:50 am

Hi Everyone,

I got PopupWhatcher starting for specific popup dialog and according to conditions, it should perform several steps. My PopupWhatcher using callback function to perform these steps. But the main test does not give enough time to finish thus steps.
Can someone help me and suggest the way I can pause or put on hold the main test flow until my PopupWhatcher is finished?

Thank you for help,
Felix.

P.S. I got Ranorex v9.3.1.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How can I pause test for PopupWhatcher to finish?

Post by odklizec » Mon May 04, 2020 8:27 am

Hi,

I think your only hope here is PauseWhileExists method, which you can find in Ranorex Automation Helpers. Basically, it waits for the appearance of a dialog and pauses execution of test until it disappears. But it may not necessarily meet all your requirements? ;) Therefore, you will most probably have to adapt or write your own "RequestPauseWhileExists" method?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
felixk91
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:16 pm

Re: How can I pause test for PopupWhatcher to finish?

Post by felixk91 » Mon May 04, 2020 1:31 pm

Hi odklizec,

Thank you for the reply and your suggestion. It always appreciated.
Do you think I can add pause as part of my PopupWatcher?

Thanks,
Felix.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How can I pause test for PopupWhatcher to finish?

Post by odklizec » Mon May 04, 2020 1:40 pm

Hi,

I don't think so. Not without rewriting it with "PauseWhileExists" guts? I would suggest to contact directly Ranorex support regarding your issue. Since Ranorex folks wrote all PopupWatcher methods, they may help you with your problem.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
felixk91
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:16 pm

Re: How can I pause test for PopupWhatcher to finish?

Post by felixk91 » Fri May 08, 2020 9:51 am

Hi odklizec,

Thank you for tips.
Felix.