How can one open the Ranorex generated VS2010 in VS2010

Ask general questions here.
AMITm
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:28 am

How can one open the Ranorex generated VS2010 in VS2010

Post by AMITm » Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:43 am

Hello,

I have tried to open Ranorex generated VS2010 in VS2010. But every time, it showed me ( not available) in right pane of VS2010.

Could you please help me to find out solution.


Thanks,
Amit Sharma

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How can one open the Ranorex generated VS2010 in VS2010

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 20, 2014 6:16 pm

Hi Amit,

I tried to reproduce the issue but in my case I was able to open a 5.2 Ranorex solution without any issues with VS2010.

May I therefore ask which Ranorex version you are using and if you see the same issues with one of our sample solutions?

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

AMITm
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:28 am

Re: How can one open the Ranorex generated VS2010 in VS2010

Post by AMITm » Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:21 am

Hello Marcus,

Ranorex Version is 5.1.0.18625. Are you using Visual Studio 2010 ultimate ?because I am using professional one.

Thanks,
Amit Sharma

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How can one open the Ranorex generated VS2010 in VS2010

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 21, 2014 5:34 pm

Hello Amit,

Do you mind updating to Ranorex 5.2 which is the current Ranorex version and to check it this will work on your machine?
Here is the link: Ranorex 5.2.
Have you also already tried to open one of the provided Ranorex samples?

I tested it with VS 2010 Premium.

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

AMITm
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:28 am

Re: How can one open the Ranorex generated VS2010 in VS2010

Post by AMITm » Mon Nov 24, 2014 5:32 am

Hello Markus,

I have updated the Ranorex Version to 5.2. After update, I have tried to open sample solutions and find the same issue.

I am using Visual Studio 2010 professional.

Attaching the snapshot also

Could you please mention the VS2010 product type e.g. Ultimate, professional etc, which are suitable for Ranorex Sln?

Thanks,
Amit Sharma
Attachments
snapshot_issue.PNG
VS2010 Image with solution
snapshot_issue.PNG (12.81 KiB) Viewed 861 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How can one open the Ranorex generated VS2010 in VS2010

Post by Support Team » Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:59 am

Hi Amit,

I also tested it with Visual Studio 2010 Express so you should be able to open Ranorex solutions with every Visual Studio version.
Why Visual Studio cannot load the solution may have other reasons there can be different reasons why VS cannot open a project two are described here: link1 and link2.
A reload of the project files would probably also work: link3.

Is your Ranorex solution a C# or a VB.Net solution? If it is VB.Net please also make sure that your VS installation also supports VB.Net solutions.
May I ask you to upload your solution or to send it to [email protected]?
This may help me to analyze the issue.

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

AMITm
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:28 am

Re: How can one open the Ranorex generated VS2010 in VS2010

Post by AMITm » Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:34 am

Hello Markus,

I am using your sample solutions only i.e. WordPress sample, which is available with 5.2. In previous"reply"
post, I have attached the snapshot of the same.
Thanks,
Amit Sharma

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How can one open the Ranorex generated VS2010 in VS2010

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:54 pm

Hi Amit,

That's true, but I was curious if the sample solution was changed by opening it on your machine.

Have you already tried all the suggestions from the provided links?

Regards,
Markus
.
Image