How to access a certain window

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
fleipold
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 7:04 am

How to access a certain window

Post by fleipold » Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:19 pm

Hello ,

I have a problem regarding a dialog opening in our application. Its a dialog which opens when you click a certain link in the application.
When executing the testcase the application is not able to access the windows. It suggests it may not be whitelisted by ranorex. But because its just a dialog opened from the whitelistet main application i doubt thats really the problem.
When i check the xpath in "maintenance mode" oder in "spy" its correct. It should work. But it doesn´t. Anyone some suggestions what to check ?
I found these messages in the console when i open the dialog. So i suppose ranorex has found the dialog
RanorexAutomation: registering new Window hwnd: 723586 comp: class com.ipointsys.imds.client.gui.management.ManagementFrame
RanorexAutomation: registering new Window hwnd: 3213892 comp: class javax.swing.JDialog
RanorexAutomation: registering new Window hwnd: 3279428 comp: class com.ipointsys.imds.client.gui.management.ManagementFrame
RanorexAutomation: registering new Window hwnd: 922132 comp: class javax.swing.JDialog
RanorexAutomation: registering new Window hwnd: 987668 comp: class com.ipointsys.imds.client.gui.management.ManagementFrame
RanorexAutomation: registering new Window hwnd: 5378820 comp: class javax.swing.JDialog



Regards Florian
Attachments
management.rxsnp
(67.66 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
ipca.png
ipca.png (56.14 KiB) Viewed 103 times

asdf
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:16 pm

Re: How to access a certain window

Post by asdf » Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:50 pm

Hi Fleipold,

It seems that this pop up dialog is an independent form element. So if you are using the whitelist feature, I would suggest trying to add this to the whitelist.

If this is not the case, please post the actions you are using to automate this dialog.

Hope this helps.
ASDF

fleipold
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 7:04 am

Re: How to access a certain window

Post by fleipold » Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:13 am

Good morning,

I tried to whitelist the dialog but i couldn´t see any element which might be the dialog.
And i simply used the recording feature to click onto the button. Nothing special.
The recorded xpath finds the dialog if i try it in the spy. If the dialog would be filtered out by the whitelist feature it should not find the dialog either ?

Regards Florian

qwertzu
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: How to access a certain window

Post by qwertzu » Thu Sep 27, 2018 12:26 pm

hey,
have you already tried to execute your test without the whitelisting feature?
--> try to remove all processes from the whitelist window.
this will let us verify if your issue is related to the whitelisting feature at all.
regards, qwertzu

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to access a certain window

Post by odklizec » Thu Sep 27, 2018 12:31 pm

Hi,

Could you please post the xpath for this dialog, as you have it stored in repo? Also, are you sure the xpath returns just one Management window, when searched in Spy? And what kind of action are you trying to use? Ideally, please post the snapshot not just of the Management window, but also the main app. Thanks.

BTW, it appears to be a Java app, so examine and eventually change the Java-related settings in Spy and Studio settings.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration