How to access Dynamic attribute of a UI element

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
cbelet
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:06 pm

How to access Dynamic attribute of a UI element

Post by cbelet » Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:48 pm

Hi,

I'm quite a new user of Ranorex (V5.4.6, W7), so my apologise if my question is a little bit stupide ;-).

I'm struggling to get access to one specific Dynamic attribute of one of my UI Element (a container to be more accurate).
When I'm using the Ranorex Spy Tool, I can easily see the Dynamic attribute <IsInEdition> but when I'm trying to get this information in my userCode, I fail. :cry:

Is It possible to get this value inside my code?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Regards
Attachments
Screen Shot 11-28-16 at 04.46 PM.PNG
Screen Shot 11-28-16 at 04.46 PM.PNG (102.46 KiB) Viewed 764 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to access Dynamic attribute of a UI element

Post by odklizec » Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:27 am

Hi,

At first, there is no such thing as a stupid question ;) At second, please update your Ranorex with most recent version. Ranorex 5.x is too old and no longer supported. Check if your code fails with latest 6.1.1. Also, please post the code you are using, Ranorex snapshot of the element in question and exact error you are getting. Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

cbelet
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:06 pm

Re: How to access Dynamic attribute of a UI element

Post by cbelet » Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:32 pm

Thank you for your indulgence :)
Okay, I will update my Ranorex and I'll keep you posted if I'm still facing problems to access my UI element attribute.
Thanks again