How to change the source control from TFS to GIT

Ask general questions here.
premravi
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 12:55 pm

How to change the source control from TFS to GIT

Post by premravi » Thu Feb 13, 2020 12:26 pm

Hi,

Till now I was using TFS as my source control

Now organization is moving to GIT

So please help me out what steps to follow to change the source control to GIT

Thanks
Regards

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5564
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to change the source control from TFS to GIT

Post by odklizec » Thu Feb 13, 2020 1:06 pm

Hi,

If you are using TFS integration in Ranorex Studio, then you must remove the solution from TFS (via "Remove Source Control Binding"). And then simply re-add solution to GIT, following these steps:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/int ... ntrol/git/

As for general TFS to GIT migration guide, you should check this:
https://xebia.com/blog/migrate-tfs-to-git/
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

premravi
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 12:55 pm

Re: How to change the source control from TFS to GIT

Post by premravi » Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:44 am

Hi,

After completing my initial commit

Getting this message box as displayed in the attach screenshot

What will be the master path and the remote path

Please help

Regards
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5564
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to change the source control from TFS to GIT

Post by odklizec » Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:29 am

Hi,

I'm afraid I can't help you with that. I'm still using TFS ;) Why don't you ask dev guys in your company, who are already using GIT?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration