How to click to Excel form controls button

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
nguyen.tung

How to click to Excel form controls button

Post by nguyen.tung » Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:47 am

Hi

I'm new in Ranorex.

I'm using Ranorex like an RPA tool to test an old excel app and get this problem.
I can recognize picture or tangle object in excel but cannot recognize form control button which have reference to an macro function (like attached image)
error.png
When test run, the mouse don't click to form control button like I want, it clicked to other place.
Can't anyone help me how to fix this problem.

Thanks

ps: sorry for my poor english
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru

Re: How to click to Excel form controls button

Post by odklizec » Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:48 am

Hi,

Please upload a Ranorex snapshot (NOT screenshot) of the problematic excel file. Even better, if possible, please upload the excel file itself. Thanks.

BTW, I just tried to track a form button, created in newly made excel file (most recent office 365) and the button is correctly tracked via Ranorex. The only problem is, that the button is identified as a picture, with no relevant info available (not even button name). It's recognized that way even in MS Inspect tool. So there is unfortunately nothing you or Ranorex can do about this.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

nguyen.tung

Post by nguyen.tung » Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:33 am

Hi

Sorry for my bad description. Let me describe again.

In the left screenshot, when ranorex spy the "rectangle shape button", it can track the button ONLY (the red line around the button).