How to do the image based testing

Ask general questions here.
premravi
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:55 pm

How to do the image based testing

Post by premravi » Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:55 pm

Hi,

I have so many elements on the web page which are difficult to identify using ranorex spy so we are going with co-ordinates and then trying to perform operation on it

Please let me know how can I capture an element on the application by turning on the image based automation feature and then how to perform operations on it

Please let me know if any more information is required

Thanks

qwertzu
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: How to do the image based testing

Post by qwertzu » Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:58 am

Hi,

The easiest way to implement image based actions is using the Ranorex recorder and activating the "Image Based recording" option.
Details about image based automation can be found here:

regards, qwertzu

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to do the image based testing

Post by odklizec » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:05 am

Hi,

In my opinion, image-based automation, in global scale, is just a waste of time. It will never be so reliable as xpath-based automation. It's handy in case of certain problematic elements, but only if used scarcely. It's nothing to be used on regular basis.

Could you please upload a ranorex snapshot (NOT screenshot) of your web page, so we can examine it and suggest better approach than image-based automation?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration