How to execute web test when using CI (bamboo)?

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
boris0dev
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 11:28 am

How to execute web test when using CI (bamboo)?

Post by boris0dev » Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:32 am

Good morning,
on my journey to a successful integration of Ranorex web tests into bamboo I encountered a new problem: The tests are executed but fail.

To be more precise:
On my designer machine I execute the web tests manually via the Ranorex plugin in Chrome. Works like a charm.
When I execute the web tests via Bamboo the elements on the web page are not found.
I had a look at the report and the report shows black screens:
black screens.png
black screens.png (75.13 KiB) Viewed 113 times
I read blogs and the documentation and posts about endpoints, headless mode and so on but after all that reading I am even more confused.

Could anybody please point me into the right direction?

Thanks, Boris

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4550
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to execute web test when using CI (bamboo)?

Post by odklizec » Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:49 am

Hi,

Are you sure the Bamboo server is not installed as a service? Because this is a big "nono" and most probable reason of your issue! ;)

Please check this paragraph in Ranorex-Bamboo integration guide (Bamboo Server header):
If you are going to use the default build agent running locally on the server, make sure to not start the Bamboo Server as service, but to start the server in a console as you can see in following figure. The reason is that a service does not have sufficient rights to start and access UI applications.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

boris0dev
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 11:28 am

Re: How to execute web test when using CI (bamboo)?

Post by boris0dev » Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:07 am

Thanks odklizec,
I will check that