How to "hide" rxtst's from test suite view?

Ask general questions here.
LPG
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:12 pm

How to "hide" rxtst's from test suite view?

Post by LPG » Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:02 pm

I have a few projects within my solution, and therefore a few rxtst files.

For each project (rxtst file), a separate tab shows up in the test suite area. I don't always want to work on all of them, and having all these tabs visible is just confusing. When I have some script files open, it gets harder to switch between files if you have all these unnecessary rxtst's open that you are not working on.

I tried closing them, but that only lasts until you save something in your current project. As soon as you save something, all these rxtst's opens a tab again.

Is there perhaps a setting to NOT show all the rxtst's in test suite unless you open them intentionally?

Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to "hide" rxtst's from test suite view?

Post by Support Team » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:18 am

Hi,
LPG wrote:I tried closing them, but that only lasts until you save something in your current project. As soon as you save something, all these rxtst's opens a tab again.
If you close the rxtst file via the tab, the view should close and shouldn't reopen after you save something. I tried to reproduce this behavior and it works as expected. All tabs I close, doesn't open after I save my solution. We don't have a hide functionality for files, because as I said above if you close the tab the tab is close and just opens if you request this.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

LPG
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:12 pm

Re: How to "hide" rxtst's from test suite view?

Post by LPG » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:44 pm

Hi,

It definitely reopens for me when I change anything. This is 100% reproducible for me. In fact, I don't even need to SAVE, just make a change. Here is an example scenario:

5 Tabs open of different rxtst's.
Close Tab 1, 2, 3, 4.
In Tab 5, open one of the recordings.
Add a line in the recording (e.g. a delay statement, or whatever). Wait 2 seconds ...
The other 4 rxtst's open again in, so now I have 6 tabs open again (the 5 x rxtst's, and the recording file).

I'm using ersion 3.0.0.11639. I can't upgrade to 3.1, since our license won't work with 3.1.

Maybe 5 persistent tabs are not that bad yet. But we'll be creating more as our automation effort continues, so this could become quite a problem eventually.

Would it be helpful if I send my whole Ranorex solution with the different rxtst's to you? I'm not sure what would be different in what I have, and what you tried to reproduce, so this way we'll be comparing apples with apples :)

Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to "hide" rxtst's from test suite view?

Post by Support Team » Thu Feb 23, 2012 7:16 pm

LPG wrote:I'm using ersion 3.0.0.11639. I can't upgrade to 3.1, since our license won't work with 3.1.
Please, update at least to Ranorex V3.0.5, so the latest service release that is available with your license. We fixed quite a lot of bugs in those 5 service releases for 3.0 :)
The link to the download archive should be included in the license email you got.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

LPG
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:12 pm

Re: How to "hide" rxtst's from test suite view?

Post by LPG » Mon Feb 27, 2012 7:19 pm

Hi, the upgrade indeed fixed the issue, however, after the upgrade I'm getting errors:

TestSuite XML format is invalid. TestSuiteEntry id .... already exists.

I've seen a thread on this error somewhere on the forum, in which case the person just changed the duplicate id's slightly so they are not duplicate anymore. This seems to work for some, but not others. When I fixed the second set of duplicates (e.g. from ...abcd to ...abca), I get another error:

TestSuite XML format is invalid. Guid should contain 32 digits with 4 dashes ...
(I didn't change the format, only 1 letter, so not sure what it is cranky about!)

Based on the previous thread that I read, it seems that I'll need to send in my project to have these issues fixed.

Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to "hide" rxtst's from test suite view?

Post by Support Team » Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:29 pm

Hi,
LPG wrote:Based on the previous thread that I read, it seems that I'll need to send in my project to have these issues fixed.
This would be great. Then we will fix the issue for you and send you the solution back.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image