How to increase the default Imaging timeout more than 36000 ms

Ask general questions here.
premravi
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:55 pm

How to increase the default Imaging timeout more than 36000 ms

Post by premravi » Thu Oct 24, 2019 7:28 am

Hi

Fusion Repository Settings Imaging is not allowing me to increase the default timeout more than 36000 ms

Is there any way to increase the Imaging timeout please let me know

Regards

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to increase the default Imaging timeout more than 36000 ms

Post by odklizec » Thu Oct 24, 2019 7:33 am

Hi,

Could you please share a screenshot, of what exactly you trying to change? Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

premravi
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:55 pm

Re: How to increase the default Imaging timeout more than 36000 ms

Post by premravi » Thu Oct 24, 2019 8:18 am

Hi,

Please find the attached screenshot as requested

The Max is 360000 ms . How can we increase it more than this

Regards
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to increase the default Imaging timeout more than 36000 ms

Post by odklizec » Thu Oct 24, 2019 8:40 am

OK, I got confused with that 'Fusion' word, which is actually a name of your project ;) And in the initial description of you problem, you mentioned 36000ms but you actually want more than 360000ms? As it seems, this timeout is indeed limited to 360000ms, which translates to 6m. Could you please explain, why you need longer timeout than 6m? For the actual appearance of image, it's better to use WaitFor Exists action. And this timeout option is good for blinking images, where the content of image could change during certain amount of time. However, the typical timeout is few ms. Definitely not more than just few secs.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

premravi
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:55 pm

Re: How to increase the default Imaging timeout more than 36000 ms

Post by premravi » Fri Nov 08, 2019 9:50 am

Hi,

Thanks a lot for the solution

Sure I ll try "Wait for Exists" option

Please help me to understand how can I use it in my piece of code

So basically this is the image on which I need to integrate the "Wait for Exists " method

CompressedImage txtToolbar_ClickRun = repo.Fusion.txtToolbarInfo.GetClickRun(new Rectangle(302, 16, 17, 14));
Imaging.FindOptions txtToolbar_ClickRun_Options = Imaging.FindOptions.Default;
repo.Fusion.txtToolbar.DoubleClick(new Location(txtToolbar_ClickRun, "4;4", txtToolbar_ClickRun_Options));

It is DOUBLE CLICKING successfully

After DOUBLE CLICKING the report will run for sometime and then again the same button will be visible once the report ran successfully

So the moment that run button is visible, I have to proceed with next action

That's why it is very important for my scenario to know exactly when that RUN button is going to stop

Few reports are taking more than 30 mins

I hope this gives better clarity on the scenario

Please help to resolve

Regards
Ravindra

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to increase the default Imaging timeout more than 36000 ms

Post by odklizec » Fri Nov 08, 2019 10:13 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, that without seeing, at very least, a Ranorex snapshot (NOT screenshot) of the app under test and entire test suite, it's hard to suggest something reliable. From the description of you problem, I don't quite understand the test workflow ;) Generally speaking, it may be enough to add this, at start of your code?...

Code: Select all

repo.Fusion.txtToolbarInfo.WaitForExists();
Eventually, you can add timeout of your choice:

Code: Select all

repo.Fusion.txtToolbarInfo.WaitForExists(60000);
BTW, if I were you, I would reference UI element in code via RepoItemInfo method parameter, instead of referencing it directly in code. Try this...

Code: Select all

public static void YourMethod(RepoItemInfo txtToolbarInfoElement)
{
    txtToolbarInfoElement.WaitForExists();
    CompressedImage txtToolbar_ClickRun = txtToolbarInfoElement.GetClickRun(new Rectangle(302, 16, 17, 14));
     Imaging.FindOptions txtToolbar_ClickRun_Options = Imaging.FindOptions.Default;
     txtToolbarInfoElement.DoubleClick(new Location(txtToolbar_ClickRun, "4;4", txtToolbar_ClickRun_Options));
}
Then in recording module, assign txtToolbarInfoElement with txtToolbarInfo repo element.

Also, could you please share a Ranorex snapshot of the toolbar you are working with?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

premravi
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:55 pm

Re: How to increase the default Imaging timeout more than 36000 ms

Post by premravi » Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:22 pm

Hi,

Thanks for sharing the possibilities here,

But for image based automation Wait for Exists property is not taking location overload it can take only 1 argument that is time

Basically double click on that RUN button is image based operation which is done

Now we have to wait for that RUN button to be visible for an uncertain time which can be as low as 5 seconds and as high as 60 minutes

So, if we have any property or method using which we can wait for an image to be visible, it will be great

Please help me to resolve the issue

Regards

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to increase the default Imaging timeout more than 36000 ms

Post by odklizec » Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:29 pm

Hi,

This is why I asked for the snapshot.

You will most probably have to implement your own image-based wait. Check for example these posts with related code samples:
https://www.ranorex.com/forum/viewtopic ... 262#p33631
https://www.ranorex.com/forum/viewtopic ... 08&#p34075
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration