How to maximize the browser window in Ranorex

Ask general questions here.
premravi
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:55 pm

How to maximize the browser window in Ranorex

Post by premravi » Thu Mar 28, 2019 2:56 pm

Hi,

I am automating a web based application wherein I am trying to maximize the browser window
I know that I can maximize using the maximize symbol as it is traceable using Ranorex spy
But I want to know if there is any other predefined method available in Ranorex which will maximize the browser window

Please help me with this issue

Regards

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12003
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to maximize the browser window in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:59 pm

Hi premravi,

You can have the browser open maximized via the Open browser action.
`.png
`.png (3.96 KiB) Viewed 409 times
I hope this helps!

Regards,
Ned
.
Image

premravi
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:55 pm

Re: How to maximize the browser window in Ranorex

Post by premravi » Fri Mar 29, 2019 7:15 am

Hi,
Thanks for the response
But I am not automating using record and playback module
I am creating a separate code C# code module
So, can you help me in that perspective like sharing some predefined method for maximize
Regards

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5353
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to maximize the browser window in Ranorex

Post by odklizec » Fri Mar 29, 2019 8:24 am

Hi,

I would suggest you to check Ranorex API, available here:
https://www.ranorex.com/Documentation/Ranorex/
And simply search for OpenBrowser method.

BTW, I think that doing everything from code is just a waste of time, especially if you are new to Ranroex and you don't have comprehensive knowledge of Ranorex API. You don't have to use Record&Replay and yet, you can significantly boost the speed of development by using Recording modules and learn how the basic Ranorex actions are done in code (either by looking in to the cs file, accompanying each rxrec file, or by converting recording actions to user code). In addition, recording modules are easier to read and understand by "common" people, without greater coding knowledge. So all in all, doing everything in code, is in my opinion counterproductive :) I'm personally using recording only occasionally, but I use Recording modules a lot! I just fill them with actions manually. And yes, I use code modules and user code actions. I just limit them to absolutely necessary things, where the recording modules are not powerful enough ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: How to maximize the browser window in Ranorex

Post by Stub » Fri Mar 29, 2019 9:26 am

I'm personally using recording only occasionally, but I use Recording modules a lot! I just fill them with actions manually.
That's very interesting, Pavel. I've been using lots of re-usable and very atomic code modules - some incredibly simple, others less so. But I'm hoping to expose our Ranorex tests to more folks in our organisation soon, so having alternatives for them would help matters a lot.

I started off learning Ranorex with recordings, peered at the code, then never touched them again once I had figured out the Ranorex API. But I'm off to experiment with Recording Modules now that you've suggested it, so thanks for that.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5353
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to maximize the browser window in Ranorex

Post by odklizec » Fri Mar 29, 2019 10:00 am

Hi Stub,

This is also my aim, to introduce TA to people, who may be less coding-skilled, yet excellent manual testers. A lot of guys in our organization are great testers, but many of them don't have any coding background and they are often scared of it ;) From what I found, it's much easier for them to start with Recording modules. Showing them a project full of code modules filled with meaningless lines of texts would most probably scare the sh... out of them :D Recordings are definitely easier to read and understand, than code. And at some point in time, they will anyway start with coding simple conditions and loops and eventually learn more complicated things. The first thing I always teach new person interested in TA is that recordings must be atomic (at max 10 actions per recording module). And the next thing, that repo must be clean and tidy, with no generic names and minimum of indexes and zero dynamic IDs ;) All in all, code-less TA is a myth :) If one wants to become a successful TA person, certain coding skills are required. On the other hand, I think that coding everything from the ground up only slows the things up and may eventually introduce more bugs than with auto-generated recording modules?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

premravi
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:55 pm

Re: How to maximize the browser window in Ranorex

Post by premravi » Fri Mar 29, 2019 11:38 am

Hi Pavel,

Thanks a lot for the resolution and the Ranorex guide

Regards