How to minimize Ranorex object identification time

Ask general questions here.
vengaishiva
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:40 pm

How to minimize Ranorex object identification time

Post by vengaishiva » Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:26 am

Hi,
I have been using Ranorex v3.0 licensed version on a virtual machine. I have a window that needs to be identified. The path of the window is /form[@title='Application Error']. The problem here is Ranorex takes 3- 4 seconds to identify this. I need a better performance than this.I want it to be identified in less than a second Any tips on this?
The code looks like this :

Element window1 = null;
Host.Local.TryFindSingle(@"/form[@title='Application Error']",3000,out window1); //If i give less than 3000, its unable to identify all the times, sometimes it identifies.
//Doing some operations with this window1 after that.

Details about the automation :
I have written automation code such that, the automation runs for more than 45 mins. The above said line is a part of that automation.
OS used is Windows 7
RAM capacity 2 GB

Please help,
Regards,
Siva R S
virtual machine

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to minimize Ranorex object identification time

Post by Support Team » Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:56 am

Hi,

How many processes are running on your VM, is the CPU Usage very high?
Maybe your VM is too slow or an application is running that needs much computational power?
Try to close all programs or processes which you do not really need for test purposes.
In this case I think that Ranorex is limited by the computational power of your VM.

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

vdeore
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:54 am

Re: How to minimize Ranorex object identification time

Post by vdeore » Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:51 pm

What are the minimum system configuration required for having good performance with Ranorex v3.0 licensed version with Windows OS ?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to minimize Ranorex object identification time

Post by Support Team » Wed Oct 05, 2011 2:38 pm

vdeore wrote:What are the minimum system configuration required for having good performance with Ranorex v3.0 licensed version with Windows OS ?
Currently we have no official hardware requirements. We are working on it.
You want to know what's needed for Ranorex Studio or Runtime? I ask you because there is a big difference in the memory usage.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

vengaishiva
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: How to minimize Ranorex object identification time

Post by vengaishiva » Wed Oct 05, 2011 2:42 pm

Hi,
We are using Ranorex Runtime, can you tell me the differences
Thanks,
Siva R S

vdeore
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:54 am

Re: How to minimize Ranorex object identification time

Post by vdeore » Wed Oct 05, 2011 2:51 pm

me too Ranorex runtime

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to minimize Ranorex object identification time

Post by Support Team » Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:49 am

Hi,

The difference between Runtime and Studio is the Ranorex Studio. This is based on GUI and GUI needs from scratch more memory. For the runtime should be a system with 1 Gb of RAM enough, but this is just an estimate and also depends on your OS and Unit Under Test. As told before we are currently on evaluating the Hardware requirements.
It would be very great if you can post or send us an example project where we can reproduce this issue.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image