How to pass variables as reference from recording to UserCode?

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
mrt
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:31 am

How to pass variables as reference from recording to UserCode?

Post by mrt » Tue May 04, 2021 12:11 pm

Dear folks,

I was wondering if it is possible in the meantime to pass a variable by reference into user code?
Currently I have to select the same variable twice (once as parameter, once as return value) which seems unnecessary and I want to get rid of it, byRef would be the solution.

I found this rather old post from 2012 where it was not possible:
https://ranorex.com/forum/pass-a-parame ... 10048.html

Is it possible in the meantime?

As soon as I define a parameter byref in UserCode method, the method does not show up anymore when selecting from recording module.
Is there some trick to do, or is this Ranorex's way to say: "not supported" ?

thanks
BR mrt

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6544
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to pass variables as reference from recording to UserCode?

Post by odklizec » Tue May 04, 2021 12:20 pm

Hi,

Well, I'm afraid, there is no change regarding this matter. Ranorex methods still support only these basic types:
Arguments.png
Arguments.png (4.94 KiB) Viewed 517 times
ByRef variables are not supported yet.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

mrt
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:31 am

Re: How to pass variables as reference from recording to UserCode?

Post by mrt » Tue May 04, 2021 12:28 pm

alright, thanks anyway for the quick reply! :)

br mrt