How to pause tracking

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
Peter546
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 12:23 pm

How to pause tracking

Post by Peter546 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 11:44 am

Hi there

Is there anyway to pause and resume tracking? I need to click a menu item within a button. I cannot track the menu item as I have to select the button first. It is therefore tracking the button first every time.

Peter

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to pause tracking

Post by odklizec » Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:07 pm

Hi,

What you can do is to use a feature called "Instant Tracking". Simply make the menu to appear and once it's visible, move mouse above the menu element you want to track and press Ctrl+Win key. This should track the item and add it to repo.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
RobinHood42
Posts: 238
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:24 pm

Re: How to pause tracking

Post by RobinHood42 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:12 pm

Hi,

and you could use "F12" to actually pause the tracking mechanism.

Cheers,
Robin