How to run testsuite against win8 metro app by command line

Ask general questions here.
alin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:25 am

How to run testsuite against win8 metro app by command line

Post by alin » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:43 am

Hi,

1. run Ranorex Studio as administrator
2. recording some operations as TestCase on metro apps via Ranorex Studio
TestCase playback works.
3. run cmd as administrator
4. execute "test.exe /tc:TestCase"
It fails since no element found

How to run testsuite on metro apps by command line?

Regards,
Alin

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: How to run testsuite against win8 metro app by command line

Post by Support Team » Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:23 pm

Hello,

Microsoft added a lot of new security features in Windows 8. These features make it more difficult to access apps for Ranorex. In particular, metro apps are a bit tricky to work with.

Please take a look at our section 'General Troubleshooting' in our User Guide in order to solve your issue. Please let me know if it works.

Regards,
Markus (T)

alin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:25 am

Re: How to run testsuite against win8 metro app by command line

Post by alin » Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:41 am

Hi Markus,

I've checked all info at section 'General Troubleshooting', and could not find Ranorex UiaLauncher (<Ranorex Installation Folder>\bin\Ranorex.UiaLauncher32.exe) and try it. other ways doesn't work.

Regards,
Alin

User avatar
sincoew
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:42 am

Re: How to run testsuite against win8 metro app by command line

Post by sincoew » Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:19 am

Hi Markus,

I also not found "UiaLauncher32.exe",
and I don't have this function "Ranorex.Core.Util.RestartWithUiAccess()",
It's look like only support Ranorex version 4.0?
My version is version 3.3.3.

Best Regards,
Robert Chen.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: How to run testsuite against win8 metro app by command line

Post by Support Team » Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:22 pm

Hello,

The UiaLauncher is not available in 3.3.3. You have to install Ranorex 4.0 to use the UiaLauncher.

Regards,
Bernhard

alin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:25 am

Re: How to run testsuite against win8 metro app by command line

Post by alin » Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:18 am

ok,
thanks a lot.

Regards,
Alin

User avatar
sincoew
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:42 am

Re: How to run testsuite against win8 metro app by command line

Post by sincoew » Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:31 am

Thanks you for your help.
I install version 4.0 and use below code resolved my issue.

Code: Select all

if (Ranorex.Core.Util.IsRestartRequiredForWinAppAccess)   
 return Ranorex.Core.Util.RestartWithUiAccess();
Best Regards,
Robert Chen.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: How to run testsuite against win8 metro app by command line

Post by Support Team » Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:54 am

Hi,

You're welcome!
We are glad you were able to solve the issue!

Regards,
Markus