How to setup VM to run recorded script

Ask general questions here.
gayathri
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:12 pm

How to setup VM to run recorded script

Post by gayathri » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:07 am

Hi,
I have recorded script for web application.
Now, I want to run this script in VM so that I can continue to work on other tasks in my Machine.

Is there any documentation available like how to setup this?

Any information would be helpfu

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to setup VM to run recorded script

Post by odklizec » Wed Mar 14, 2018 8:21 am

Hi,

It depends how exactly you want to run your tests? If you want to run them manually, then simply get the solution from your version control system (on that VM), load the solution to Ranorex (must be installed on target machine) and simply run your test.

Another possibility is to use Ranorex Remote execution, built directly in Ranorex Studio:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ranorex-remote

However, I think you should consider something more powerful, like integrating Ranorex with Jenkins CI. You can find detailed instructions here:
https://www.ranorex.com/blog/integratin ... n-process/
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

gayathri
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:12 pm

Re: How to setup VM to run recorded script

Post by gayathri » Wed Mar 14, 2018 8:34 pm

Thanks for the reply.

Here is my understanding from the documentation:
1. Install Ranorex in RDM
2. Copy the Solution in to RDM
3. Execute the Solution in RDM

But, what I should be doing if I want to trigger the test from my Host Machine and run the solution in RDM?
Please suggest me the best practice.

Here are the details:
Ranorex Verison - 8.0.1
.NET - 4.0.30319
OS - Windows 10

DavidHay
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 7:58 pm

Re: How to setup VM to run recorded script

Post by DavidHay » Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:59 pm

I agree with setting up Jenkins to deploy and run your tests. It is worth the extra effort to learn and get it setup. Ranorex works well through the Jenkins CI. I use it in conjunction with GIT to deploy and run Ranorex tests on VMs. Jenkins can be configured to meet your needs. I have it setup to trigger some overnight web application tests on one of any 3 Jenkins agents. I also have it installing Windows applications, testing them, and uninstalling them on different Windows languages and versions. Jenkins also keeps the history of tests as well. It has a lot of plugins that can help you.

Checkout this article to get started.
https://www.ranorex.com/blog/integratin ... n-process/

scrushmaster
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:46 am

Re: How to setup VM to run recorded script

Post by scrushmaster » Fri Mar 16, 2018 7:57 pm

My personal opinion is:
The only way to go is Jenkins, tried pretty much everything else, Jenkins can custom fit pretty much any needs with plugins and open source. Anything can be accomplished with it for automation.