How to skip steps if element does not exist

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
keenon

How to skip steps if element does not exist

Post by keenon » Thu May 28, 2015 6:36 pm

I am currently working with client data which obviously will vary from client to client (# of different assets, income, etc.) The way I have this recording setup is so that it will get the value of each income per client. I'd like to continue grabbing the income until there are no more income values listed, therefor skip the next getvalue and possibly the next few steps. At this point I'd move onto another section of the test. Sorry I am fairly new to Ranorex and c# as well. I think I have exhausted the possibility of being able to do this without usercode. Please let me know if this is even possible. I have quite a bit of tests that may rely on this. Any help you can provide me would be greatly appreciated.

Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: How to skip steps if element does not exist

Post by Support Team » Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:46 am

Hello keenon,

I quite agree with you. This can’t be done without using UserCode. In order to help you we would need more information about your application under test. May I ask if it’s somehow possible to access your application or a sample application, which depicts the mentioned AUT.

Thanks,
Robert

jasoncleo

Post by jasoncleo » Tue Jun 09, 2015 2:17 am

Hi Keenon,

We faced the same dilemma ourselves when planning our tests in Ranorex. We were often going to face varying scenarios, based on certain context information (i.e. user that was to be logged in to the AUT, the data subfields may not be present, etc).

In the end, user code was the only option, as the recording modules have no facility for logical branching (i.e. if-else).