How to split a Report in single Testcases

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
*Florian*
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:40 pm

How to split a Report in single Testcases

Post by *Florian* » Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:58 pm

After each testcase i save a report. If i apply more testcases, the first report contains the infomation of the first testcase, the second contains the information of the fist and the second testcase, the third one contains the first, the second and the third testcase and so on.... My request is: Is it possible to save reports, that only contain one testcase and do not contain all previous testcases from that testrun (first only first, second only second, third only third and so on...) ?


Any help is appreciated,
Florian

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: How to split a Report in single Testcases

Post by krstcs » Fri Jul 25, 2014 3:51 pm

Why not just run each test case independently? You can setup test run configurations for each one and run them via command-line. If you name the report file well, you shouldn't have any problems with over-writing.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

*Florian*
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:40 pm

Re: How to split a Report in single Testcases

Post by *Florian* » Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:23 am

Thank you for your reply, but it's not the solution i'm looking for. I would prefer, that one testrun contains several testcases and the report will be split in several reports. That each report contains only one testcase.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to split a Report in single Testcases

Post by Support Team » Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:58 pm

Hi Florian,

Unfortunately this is not possible easily and without using our official documented API.
I would also suggest the workaround as described by krstcs.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

JSH_QA
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 9:03 am

Re: How to split a Report in single Testcases

Post by JSH_QA » Fri Aug 01, 2014 2:24 pm

We use MS Test for this purpose. Each test case is an individual MS Test method. In TestInitialize we call the Ranorex method Report.Setup , then in TestCleanup we call Report.End and Report.Zip , with the test name being used to name the generated report file.

This allows us to have multiple test cases run (whether from Visual Studio, Microsoft Test Manager, or from our automated build), with each test case having its own report file, which we can be easily accessed (from Visual Studio or Microsoft Test Manager).

Regards,

John H.