How to use formatting in Key sequence action

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
MichalSk
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:23 am
Location: Pforzheim, Germany

How to use formatting in Key sequence action

Post by MichalSk » Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:32 pm

Hello together,

is it possible to use formatting inside the Key sequence Action in a recording module?
For example when I want to use a variable inside a text, in the Key sequence text field.
KeySequenceExample.PNG
KeySequenceExample.PNG (3.16 KiB) Viewed 48 times
Thanks in advance!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to use formatting in Key sequence action

Post by odklizec » Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:42 pm

Hi,

As far as I know, there is no formatting option in Key Sequence action. And if you want to combine a hardcoded string with variable (inside Key Sequence action), you must convert the action to user code and combine string and variable in code. There is currently no way to do this directly in Recording action.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

MichalSk
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:23 am
Location: Pforzheim, Germany

Re: How to use formatting in Key sequence action

Post by MichalSk » Mon Oct 26, 2020 11:08 am

odklizec wrote:
Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:42 pm
Hi,

As far as I know, there is no formatting option in Key Sequence action. And if you want to combine a hardcoded string with variable (inside Key Sequence action), you must convert the action to user code and combine string and variable in code. There is currently no way to do this directly in Recording action.
Hello,

I thought that this is not possible yet, but wasn't totally sure. Still thanks for the help!