How to use invoke action?

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
smohanty78
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:51 am

How to use invoke action?

Post by smohanty78 » Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:17 am

Hi,
How to use invoke action?
could you please explain with some examples?
Regards,
Sangita

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3950
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to use invoke action?

Post by odklizec » Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:41 am

Hi,

Invoke Action is used for invoking actions for selected repository elements. Simply drag and drop a repo element to recording module and from the appeared context menu select Invoke Action. Then from its submenu, containing the list of available actions for given repo element, select the desired action.

The main purpose of Invoke Action is performing actions without using mouse (mouse move and click). This could not only speed up the test, but mainly allow to perform actions on elements even if they are out of visible screen area (e.g. because the list of elements in combo box is too long).

However, in my opinion, Invoke Action should be used with caution. I found that in some rare cases, invoked actions proved to be slightly less reliable than properly defined mouse actions (probably because of incorrect Invoke Action implementation for given elements). But they are definitely worth a try, especially if you experiencing problems with mouse-based actions.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

smohanty78
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:51 am

Re: How to use invoke action?

Post by smohanty78 » Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:59 am

Thanks for the quick response.
Regards,
Sangita