How to validate auto incremented value

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
eranda
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 6:38 am

How to validate auto incremented value

Post by eranda » Mon May 21, 2012 6:49 am

Hi,

I was wondering if you could help me to solve the below problem. We need to check the auto incremented value. There we set the value as '1' when recording the test suite. But, it fails when we run the same in second time. Basically the problem is how I set the auto increment value to this?

Thanks,
Eranda

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to validate auto incremented value

Post by Support Team » Mon May 21, 2012 2:51 pm

Hi,

I am not sure I got your question.
But, it fails when we run the same in second time.
What do you want to do? Are you using the data driven testing?
Basically the problem is how I set the auto increment value to this?
What do you mean with "auto increment value" or with "to this"?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

eranda
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 6:38 am

Re: How to validate auto incremented value

Post by eranda » Tue May 22, 2012 6:27 am

Hi,
yes, we are used data driven testing.

Actually we want to checked auto incremented value. Test suite recoded time rootvar value is set to ‘1’. After we run the test suite it rootvar value automatically incremented. Then test suite failed.
Rootvar is some kind of a variable. We answering the question rootvar values are incremented.
Before run the test suite rootvar value set ‘1’, after the run test suite value should be a ‘2’.
Ex: assume rootavar name is ‘A’
1 step – we set the rootvar value as ‘1’ when recording the test suite
2 steps - run the test suite
3 steps – A= A+1;

We want to test for a new value (increased) rather than the old value

Thanks,
Eranda

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to validate auto incremented value

Post by Support Team » Tue May 22, 2012 1:50 pm

Hi,

If you are using the data driven testing you can input different values, for instance for the first row 1, second row to 2 and this column can be set to your/a variable to check if it was incremented.
You can also use variables in your RxPath, for more information please take a look at the following links:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c2970
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... dules.html

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

eranda
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 6:38 am

Re: How to validate auto incremented value

Post by eranda » Wed May 23, 2012 5:18 am

hi,

Thanks a lot.

Eranda.