How to work with terminal emulation

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
cpalex
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:37 am

How to work with terminal emulation

Post by cpalex » Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:47 am

We just recently purchased Ranorex, and been exploring its capabilities.

We have two flavors of our software, one that uses a Delphi created GUI interface, but we also support an older version of our software. We have been pretty successful with the GUI testing, but are struggling with the terminal.

Currently, we use a terminal emulator, AlphaCom, as a user interface for a sales terminal. It uses a VT220 terminal emulation. The server is Intersystems Cache 2012.

We can automate the tests by keystrokes and screen shots, but this can be tedious, as a blinking cursor can cause a test to fail, and terminal emulation can be fickle for exact display resolutions at times.

Is there some solution that would allow a little more robust interface with a VT220 terminal? It would be nice to use the AlphaCom application, as that is our recommended terminal emulator, but we are not limited to that.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to work with terminal emulation

Post by odklizec » Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:05 am

Hi,

Ranorex is primarily a UI test automation tool, which means testing terminal apps is a long shot. Aside mentioned screenshot-based automation, your only hope is trying GDI capture list, as described here:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/tec ... plications
This may help you with obtaining texts from terminal window and validate what you want. But that's probably all. Unfortunately, without seeing your app under test, or at very least small sample app, there is not much else anyone here can do or suggest.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

cpalex
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:37 am

Re: How to work with terminal emulation

Post by cpalex » Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:22 pm

Wow, that actually works really, really well in our situation! I mainly need it to validate I am on the right screen, I can validate the changes that occur to the database. Otherwise, I was just using blind keystrokes to hope things were doing what they should.