How to write own string for Test Case in Test Report

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
Mayra
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:27 am

How to write own string for Test Case in Test Report

Post by Mayra » Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:09 pm

I want to include the test case ID in the line where the test case name shows in the report.
In some cases when I have a data driven test, perhaps I can add a column with the test case ID. How can I access the API to write the Test case ID instead of "Iteration: 1"... in the report log and also for appending to the name of the test case that appears on the report.

THANKS

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: How to write own string for Test Case in Test Report

Post by krstcs » Mon Mar 10, 2014 1:28 pm

You could add TestCaseID as a module variable and pass it in with your data set. That wouldn't put it in the header of the report, but would put it in the variables section.

There might be a way to put it in the iteration header but I haven't messed with that part.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to write own string for Test Case in Test Report

Post by odklizec » Mon Mar 10, 2014 1:50 pm

Hi, I think there is no coded way to achieve what you want. The only way seems to be using customized report template. Take a look at this discussion:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/custom-rep ... t5743.html
You need to create a new custom report template and then modify RanorexReport4.xsl from that template.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration