HowTo - Run multiple TestCases via CommandLine

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
mw-tw
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:29 am

HowTo - Run multiple TestCases via CommandLine

Post by mw-tw » Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:38 am

Hi,

i want to automate my Ranorex-Testcases via JENKINS and developed all Testcases in one TestSuite.

Is there a way to define multiple TestCases to run via CommandLine? in the Ranorex documentation i only find the parameter "/tc:AddNewEntry" to run one single testcase.


Br
Timo

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: HowTo - Run multiple TestCases via CommandLine

Post by Stub » Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:42 am

Look into run configurations, using the /runconfig, or /rc for short, command-line parameter:
Runs the test cases of the specified configuration defined by the rxtst file.
Configurations can be edited using Ranorex Studio or TestSuiteRunner.
By default, the currently selected run config is used.

User avatar
Vega
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 2:15 pm

Re: HowTo - Run multiple TestCases via CommandLine

Post by Vega » Thu Jul 13, 2017 6:12 pm

Exactly what stub said, run configurations are the key. Basically group your desired test cases into run configurations and then call the corresponding run configuration. <test exe name>.exe /rc:SmokeTest

run configs:

https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/les ... aTestSuite

If needed you can find the list of arguments here:

https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/les ... orexStudio

mw-tw
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:29 am

Re: HowTo - Run multiple TestCases via CommandLine

Post by mw-tw » Wed Jul 19, 2017 7:32 am

great, thanks :)