Identify forms with Upgrade from Ranorex 2.1 to 3.0.2

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
madhugu
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:16 pm

Identify forms with Upgrade from Ranorex 2.1 to 3.0.2

Post by madhugu » Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:24 pm

Hi,

I have been using Ranorex 2.1 and have my object repository for all my forms with XPath. Today I upgraded to Ranorex 3.0.2 and I get the following error

Ranorex.CapabilityNotSupportedException : Item 'FormLogon.Self' is no Form.

Where "FormLogon's definition is

Code: Select all

            public FormLogon(RepoGenBaseFolder appFolder) : 
                    base("FormLogon", "/form[@title='Logon']", appFolder, 60000, null)
            {
            }
The title is the same with the latest spy too. I have also made changes to the settings as mentioned in the "Breaking Changes" section in http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c3338. Also I have added the following lines of code to my application

Code: Select all

Ranorex.Core.PluginManager.Instance.LoadDefaultPlugins(); 
Ranorex.Plugin.MsaaFlavor.Instance.FilterCompatibiltyLevel = Ranorex.Plugin.MsaaFlavor.CompatibilityLevel.V2X;
 Ranorex.Plugin.Win32Flavor.Instance.UseLegacyFormRole = true;
Should I be doing something else to make my objects recognizable?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Identify forms with Upgrade from Ranorex 2.1 to 3.0.2

Post by Support Team » Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:31 pm

Hi,

Please could you post us a Ranorex Snapshot of your entire application, because it seems the form isn't recognized as a Windows Forms Control. How to create a Ranorex Snapshot. Maybe there is a conflict between the frameworks or you forgot to add the app.config file. If your application use the .Net 4.0 framework, did you install the full framework?
Also take a look to the troubleshooting section for WinForms:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c3250

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

madhugu
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:16 pm

Re: Identify forms with Upgrade from Ranorex 2.1 to 3.0.2

Post by madhugu » Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:39 pm

Hi,

I have sent the snapshot to [email protected] as an attachment. And my test application uses .net framework 2.0 and the other installed .net frameworks are 3.5 and 4

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Identify forms with Upgrade from Ranorex 2.1 to 3.0.2

Post by Support Team » Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:07 am

Hi,

Please have a look at our troubleshooting section which might help you solving your issue as Peter mentioned before:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c3250

Regards,
Tobias
Support Team
.
Image

madhugu
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:16 pm

Re: Identify forms with Upgrade from Ranorex 2.1 to 3.0.2

Post by madhugu » Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:16 pm

Hi,

I have tried the troubleshooting section. None of those match with the scenario that I am facing. If Ranorex Spy was able to identify the form, why not the automation code identify it? Instead it throws an exception saying that it is not a form.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Identify forms with Upgrade from Ranorex 2.1 to 3.0.2

Post by Support Team » Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:39 pm

Hi,
madhugu wrote:I have tried the troubleshooting section
And even reason 5 doesn't work for your issue? Could you post the Ranorex report file (*.rxlog) generated by a failed test?
If your application uses the .Net 4.0 framework, do you have the full framework installed? Cause Ranorex Studio needs the full framework.
Did you create a new solution with Ranorex 3.0.2 or did you follow the steps to convert an existing project following the documentation? If you've created a new solution with Ranorex is it working then or only with the old 2.x project?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

madhugu
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:16 pm

Re: Identify forms with Upgrade from Ranorex 2.1 to 3.0.2

Post by madhugu » Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:30 am

Ok, now I figured out why the forms were not being returned when I run the automation package. In 2.1 when we genereated code for the forms, the constructor used to take in null, like

Code: Select all

_formlogon = new ObjRepoFolders.FormLogonAppFolder(null);
in a static constructor. Now, in 3.0 it has been changed to

Code: Select all

_formlogon = new ObjRepoFolders.FormLogonAppFolder(this);
And this has made all the difference. We do not use Ranorex Studio. Our automation library uses nunit and references Ranorex.Core. So didn't give a change for Ranorex Studio to update the Repository.

Thanks for your support.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Identify forms with Upgrade from Ranorex 2.1 to 3.0.2

Post by Support Team » Thu Jun 23, 2011 6:07 pm

Hi,

Thank you that you posted that information, we had no such report before. Maybe it help out other users.
You are welcome.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image