Image validation through saved screenshot

Ask general questions here.
sanoyag

Image validation through saved screenshot

Post by sanoyag » Mon Jun 05, 2017 3:54 am

Hi all,

I would like to ask if is there a way for me to validate and compare an image from screenshots that I have saved in a folder? Like for example, I would need to compare images from the repository to the saved images that I have inside a folder. So if I would need to test something new, I would just update the images contained in that folder and compare it again with the repository item. Is it possible to do this? Also, after doing my test cases I compile it into an executable file, so I was wondering how can the saved images in my folder be copied onto my compiled executable file, i.e. I would only need to update/change the screenshots from that folder and then run the tests again. Thank you so much in advance. This is my first time doing the image validation and I am really still confused.

sanoyag

Re: Image validation through saved screenshot

Post by sanoyag » Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:41 am

My apologies...I just realized now that I would also need to update the image in the repository if I would update the images in the folder..Is it also possible to update the image in the repository? Thank you so much...

odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru

Post by odklizec » Mon Jun 05, 2017 7:39 am

Hi,

Are you sure the image validation is the only way to validate something in your app? You see, the image validation should be used only in case, there is no other way to validate the elements via "normal" GUI validation. And even then, it's most reliable with small pictures. The bigger picture you want to validate, the greater chance it will fail due to a false positive error (e.g. because of different text or size of GUI element in a part of image that does not interest you at all).