import existing folders

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
kvogler
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:43 am

import existing folders

Post by kvogler » Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:50 am

Hello,

i'm trying to add my existing folder structure to a new Ranorex-Solution and i have two Problems:

1. How can I add a existing folder including its subfolders?
2. My Foldernames are starting with numbers e.g. "01-Title", when adding a folder manually it is renamed automatically to "-Title". How can I Change that?

Bye, Kathrin

asdf
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:16 pm

Re: import existing folders

Post by asdf » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:26 pm

Hi Kathrin,

Unfortunately, it's not possible to add a folder with included sub-folders to your project. The only thing you can do is creating a folder and its sub folders directly in Ranorex Studio and add your items afterwards.

Furthermore, there is no way to name your folders starting with a number.
As a workaround you could set an underscore '_' in front of the folder name (e.g. _01-Title).

I hope this helps.

Kind regards,
asdf

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: import existing folders

Post by krstcs » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:47 pm

asdf is correct, there is no way to import a whole directory tree at once. If you would like to make a feature request please email Ranorex directly at [email protected] as they only handle feature requests through email.


@Ranorex:
As for the issue of allow directories/folders to start with numbers, this is a bug in Ranorex. SD 4.3 allows it, but Ranorex doesn't. In addition, Windows file system allows directories to start with numeric characters.

I'm going to enter a bug in the bug forum pointing to this thread.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: import existing folders

Post by krstcs » Wed Aug 10, 2016 4:17 pm

Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: import existing folders

Post by Support Team » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:53 pm

kvogler wrote:How can I add a existing folder including its subfolders?
Just copy the folder to your project directory, switch on "Show all files" in the "Projects" tab in Studio, then right click on the folder and choose "Include In Project". That should do it.

With the above workaround you can even import folders with names starting with numbers, but I would not recommend to do so, because it introduces a difference between folder names and namespaces for items within the folder (see ciege's other topic for more info).

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image