import test suit from other pc

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
amit_kumar
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:55 am

import test suit from other pc

Post by amit_kumar » Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:11 am

hi,

we have to test 1200 test cases. suppose we are 10 members doing 10 recording each day in 10 different pc. at the end of the day we want to import all 100 recording into single pc. and replay recoding in my pc in a single test suit which i have created for my recording. is it possible to import and replay all the recording in single pc? plz guide me.

regards,
amit kumar
oak systems pvt ltd
8892754242

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: import test suit from other pc

Post by Support Team » Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:34 am

Hi Amit,

to understand your request:
Your team creates recordings (in standalone recorder?).
You want to include all those recordings to one Ranorex solution and add it to testsuite.
Does each recording use its own repository or does it need to be synchronized too?

Do you use any kind of source control?
If yes, everyone adds their recordings to source control and you can just update your source.
If no, you can copy a folder including all recordings (and associated repository files) to your Ranorex project directory on your file system, reopen your solution and include this folder to your project. Now all recordings are included to your project and you can add it to your testsuite and run your tests.

Please also see the following blog link about Organizing a Test Automation Project with Ranorex Test Suites.
It's a different approach to yours, but when your solution grows it's maybe a clearer way.

Regards,
Larissa
Ranorex Team
.
Image

amit_kumar
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:55 am

Re: import test suit from other pc

Post by amit_kumar » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:30 am

Hi,

Yes we are creating recording in standalone recorder and each test suite has its own repository. And we are not using any source control. Now tell me how to merge all the test suite of 100 recording into one test suite and each test suite has its own different repository. And we don't want to use dll. Just guide me to merge 10 different test suite into one test suite. So that we don't have to use lots of exe. If suppose we build 10 test suite of 100 test cases in 10 different pc and then merge it into one. It will take less space as compared to 1200 exe.

Thanks and Regards,
Amit Kumar
8892754242

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: import test suit from other pc

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:55 pm

Hi,
amit_kumar wrote:Yes we are creating recording in standalone recorder and each test suite has its own repository. And we are not using any source control. Now tell me how to merge all the test suite of 100 recording into one test suite and each test suite has its own different repository. And we don't want to use dll. Just guide me to merge 10 different test suite into one test suite. So that we don't have to use lots of exe. If suppose we build 10 test suite of 100 test cases in 10 different pc and then merge it into one. It will take less space as compared to 1200 exe.
Sorry but there is no such way. As Larissa already suggested, the best way to organize a Ranorex Project is described in this blog
http://www.ranorex.com/blog/organizing- ... test-suite

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image