Inconsistency in Xpath as Ranorex is unable to recognize cor

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
sayli
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 11:28 am

Inconsistency in Xpath as Ranorex is unable to recognize cor

Post by sayli » Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:33 pm

Hello ,
Ranorex spy is showing different xpath for the same object.
Xpath are :
1. /form[@controlname='frmRulebase']/container[@controlname='btnCallControl]
2. /form[@controlname='frmRulebase']/element[@controlname='btnCallControl]

Sometimes Ranorex is able to recognize correctly the object as a "Container" and hence I can use its attributes within my script. But sometimes during replay Ranorex is recognizing it as "Element" and hence its xpath is mismatching with the xpath recorded in the script. Also not able to use the attributes relted to that object which results in failure of script.

can anyone ever came across such type of issue :?:

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Inconsistency in Xpath as Ranorex is unable to recognize cor

Post by krstcs » Fri Oct 10, 2014 1:25 pm

Without more information it will be difficult to know where the problem lies. Please answer the following questions:

What version of Ranorex are you using?

Is this happening on the one system, or on two different systems?

If it is two different systems, are they both using the same version of Ranorex?

What version of Windows are you testing on?
Shortcuts usually aren't...

Rob-Sogeti
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: Inconsistency in Xpath as Ranorex is unable to recognize cor

Post by Rob-Sogeti » Fri Oct 10, 2014 4:42 pm

Hi,

I can answer for Sayli, the responses are below;

What version of Ranorex are you using?
>> Version is Ranorex 5.1.2

Is this happening on the one system, or on two different systems?
>> The script was developed on a standalone desktop then migrated to virtual images using the same desktop build. The problem is happening on some virtual desktops but not others, and the behaviour is inconsistent, sometimes it works, other times it doesn’t on the same image.

If it is two different systems, are they both using the same version of Ranorex?
>> Yes they are the same version of Ranorex.

What version of Windows are you testing on?
>> It is Windows 7 Enterprise SP1

Rgds,

Rob

sayli
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 11:28 am

Re: Inconsistency in Xpath as Ranorex is unable to recognize cor

Post by sayli » Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:46 am

Yes , Information provided by Rob is correct.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Inconsistency in Xpath as Ranorex is unable to recognize cor

Post by Support Team » Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:04 pm

Hello everyone,

we are already in contact with Rob-Sogeti and sayli. It seems to be an issue related to their application. We are analyzing the issue together and and hope that we can find a solution.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image