input field is deleted

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
thecrazykaktus
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:24 pm

input field is deleted

Post by thecrazykaktus » Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:44 pm

Hello, I have a problem.
I have two input fields, once a name field and a password field.
When I enter the user name and and switch in the Password field the User field will be deleted. (Firefox 30)
In Internet Explorer everything works fine.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: input field is deleted

Post by odklizec » Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:06 pm

Hi,

It would be helpful if you post a snapshot of both fields (taken in IE and FF). Additionally, it would be nice if you share the xpath you are using for both fields.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

thecrazykaktus
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: input field is deleted

Post by thecrazykaktus » Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:31 pm

Here are the xpath

Input Username
/dom[@domain='www.xxx.com']//input[#'vb_nr']

Input Password
/dom[@domain='www.xxx.com']//input[#'CurrPW']

Here are the Snapshorts of both elements (Firefox)

Username
Benutzerkennung.rxsnp

PW:
Password.rxsnp

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: input field is deleted

Post by krstcs » Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:11 pm

How are you entering the data into the field? Are you using the SetValue() action/method, or are you using the Keyboard.KeySequence action?

The SetValue method does not always work due to it not firing events. If your text field is set to fire events on KeyPress, for example, then they will not fire with SetValue.

Also, make sure you are setting the correct attribute's value. If you are setting the "Text" attribute, but the system expects the "Value" attribute to be set, it may not recognize your input.


If you aren't using the direct Keyboard.KeySequence method, I would suggest you try that instead of SetValue as it will fire all events the way the developers intended and it is much more consistent than SetValue.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: input field is deleted

Post by odklizec » Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:40 pm

I was about to ask about the way you enter the values in the fields, but krstsc was faster ;)

Anyway, I checked your snapshots and paths and even checked the real site and I experienced no problem entering the values to both fields using both key sequence and SetValue action.

Here is SetValue action example:
SetValue.png
SetValue.png (11.19 KiB) Viewed 1014 times
And here is somewhat more complicated way, using the key sequence. The field content deletion before entering new values may not be necessary, but nice to do anyway.
KeySequence.png
KeySequence.png (25.99 KiB) Viewed 1014 times
Hope it helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

thecrazykaktus
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: input field is deleted

Post by thecrazykaktus » Tue Jun 24, 2014 9:57 am

Unfortunately it does not work that way.

The website calls if you want to test is.

https://www.mydvag.com/

I can give you no login unfortunately but if you tried it with Firefox and you switch with Ranorex the input fields they will be deleted

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: input field is deleted

Post by odklizec » Tue Jun 24, 2014 10:01 am

Hi,

When exactly it gets deleted? I tried it yesterday (the link was stored in the snapshot) and both my examples correctly filled name and password fields? What version of FF and Ranorex are you using?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

thecrazykaktus
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: input field is deleted

Post by thecrazykaktus » Tue Jun 24, 2014 10:09 am

First i make an key sequence in the name field an when i swich in the Passwort field the name field will be deleted.

I use Firefox 30 an Ranorex 5.03

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: input field is deleted

Post by odklizec » Tue Jun 24, 2014 10:47 am

I tried it with FF30 and Rx 5.0.3 and everything seems work fine for me? I think there must be be either something wrong in your recording or something interfering with Ranorex actions?

Try the attached project...
test_login.zip
(15.72 KiB) Downloaded 141 times
Firs try the key sequence actions, then disable key sequence steps and enable SetValue actions. Hope it helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

thecrazykaktus
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: input field is deleted

Post by thecrazykaktus » Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:34 am

I have found the problem.
Before I make the entry in the user name and password I delete the Cache of Firefox automatically which is also a Ranorex test.

If I empty the cache then my test then my test is not working properly.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: input field is deleted

Post by odklizec » Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:49 am

Nice to hear you've found the cause of the problem. Thanks for sharing it!
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration