Installation Environment Variable is not set

Ask general questions here.
c676228
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:40 am

Installation Environment Variable is not set

Post by c676228 » Sat May 02, 2015 2:10 am

Hi,

I installed 30-day free Ranorex, the env %RANOREXPATH% is not set.
Is it due to the test software? If I enter license key, it will be set?

Thanks,
Bety

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Installation Environment Variable is not set

Post by odklizec » Sat May 02, 2015 10:59 am

Hi,

I'm sure there is not such limitation in the trial version. In fact, the "trial" setup is "full" setup without entered license.

Maybe you started setup on a machine without enough privileges? Anyway, if there is no RANOREXPATH env. variable created during setup, you should still be able to create it manually?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

c676228
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:40 am

Re: Installation Environment Variable is not set

Post by c676228 » Wed May 06, 2015 1:22 am

That's interesting. I am an administrator of my computer. Hopefully there is an easy way to create all the Ranorex env variables.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Installation Environment Variable is not set

Post by odklizec » Wed May 06, 2015 7:52 am

Hi,

I just checked my system and indeed, the env. variable RANOREXPATH is there. I never noticed this variable, nor I have a clue what this variable is good for ;) I don't know why it was not added in your case, but you should still be able to add it manually?

BTW, maybe it was your antivirus or some kind of system policy that prevented Ranorex setup to add this variable? I'm sure there is a way to obtain an installation log from setup (with some kind of command line argument), where you should be able to find the reason?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration