Installing Ranorex floating license issue with port

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
smohanty78
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:51 am

Installing Ranorex floating license issue with port

Post by smohanty78 » Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:35 pm

Hi ,
I need help in installing the floating license server.
I have installed the license server in my laptop. And I am able to access the license server as it is in my system.
However for other client system they are not able to access it.
Can anyone tell me how to open the port 7266?
I have already added the port in the start parameter of server property file.
however the client users are not able to access it.


: To prevent firewalls from blocking communication between license server and client, it's required
to open the port with number 7266 for TCP and UDP on your server.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Installing Ranorex floating license issue with port

Post by odklizec » Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:58 pm

Hi,

Try this tutorial...
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/block-ope ... 8-firewall

Eventually, you can try to change the license server port number:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/accessing- ... tml#p24143
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Installing Ranorex floating license issue with port

Post by krstcs » Tue Mar 31, 2015 6:24 pm

I would HIGHLY recommend you NOT install the license server on a laptop or any other user system. You should install it on a server that is available at all times for everyone to access.

Desktop and laptop systems are normally set to go to sleep when not in active use and, therefore, the license server would not be available for anyone. In addition, it is usually better for the network administrators to have a specific server that they know needs a port open than to have a laptop floating around with an open port that they don't know.
Shortcuts usually aren't...