Instrumentation Failed

Ask general questions here.
Gowtham
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 1:42 pm

Instrumentation Failed

Post by Gowtham » Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:54 am

Hi,

> We are trying to install Chrome on Android Emulator. But the instrumentation failed. I have attached the error.
> We tried using Instrumentation Flag as '-static -multidex' also as suggested on the forum. But still we are getting the same error.
> So we tried using different Versions of Chrome,

Ranorex Version - 7.2.1
The Android(Tablet) Version of the Emulator - Android 7.1.1
Chrome APK Versions Tried - Chrome v38.0(API Level 14), v39.0(API Level 14), v40.0(API Level 16), v42.0(API Level 14), v43.0(API Level 16), v45.0(API Level 16), v64.0(API Level 21), v71.0(API Level 16)

> We tried installing the above APKs with no luck.
> Please advice, is this an incompatibility issue? Is the Chrome version not compatible with Android version? If so, kindly let us know which Chrome version and API Level should be used.
Attachments
error.jpg
Error While Instrumenting
error.jpg (52.35 KiB) Viewed 86 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Instrumentation Failed

Post by odklizec » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:48 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, without knowing more details about the error you got (available under "Details"), there is not much anyone here can do or suggest.

As you are trying to instrument a 3rd party app, make sure the apk is not obfuscated! This is something most app developers probably do before releasing an app to public!

At next, Ranorex 7.2.1 is too old and no longer supported! Please try the instrumentation in most recent Ranorex 8.3.2 (even in trial mode).

As for the Chrome compatibility with Android version you are using, this is something you must consult with Chrome developers. Have you tried to install Chrome manually (i.e. without instrumenting it)?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Gowtham
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 1:42 pm

Re: Instrumentation Failed

Post by Gowtham » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:14 am

Hi odklizec,

The error as follows,

System.Exception: Failed to deploy the application via USB. Failure [INSTALL_FAILED_NO_MATCHING_ABIS: Failed to extract native libraries, res=-113]

8187 KB/s (32002466 bytes in 3.817s)

at Ranorex.Plugin.Mobile.Tools.Android.AndroidUsbDeploymentService.CheckForErrorsThatDoNotResultInErrorCode(ProcessRunner runner)
at Ranorex.Plugin.Mobile.Tools.Android.AndroidUsbDeploymentService.Deploy(String apkFilePath, String deviceInstance, IToolConfig config)
at Ranorex.Controls.Instrumentation.Workers.AndroidWorker.Deploy(String packageName, String toDeploy)
at Ranorex.Controls.Instrumentation.Workers.AndroidWorker.Run()
at Ranorex.Controls.AndroidInstrumentProgressPage.bgw_DoWork(Object sender, DoWorkEventArgs e)


> Regarding Ranorex Version - We already raised a concern about it. But as of now, Ranorex 7.2.1 is all we got. We have to somehow try to fix this issue on Ranorex 7.2.1 only.
> Regarding Chrome - As we are working with Android Emulators, Chrome version 55 is available on the Emulator. But when we try to record the script on Emulator, the Chrome option is not displayed. That is the reason why we are trying to instrument it through Ranorex.
> The query is simple, we have to test a web application(Record & Playback) on Android Emulator(Different Android Devices) using Ranorex 7.2.1.
> Is it possible? or Are we going in a wrong path?
Attachments
Chrome_Not_Available.jpg
Chrome_Not_Available.jpg (267.63 KiB) Viewed 76 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Instrumentation Failed

Post by odklizec » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:21 am

Hi,

Natively, mobile webs can be tested only via Ranorex-own RxBrowser. If you want to use native Android (Chrome) or iOS (Safari) web browsers, you must use Appium integration. Check for example this video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbWb1Y8597Q
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Gowtham
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 1:42 pm

Re: Instrumentation Failed

Post by Gowtham » Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:50 am

Hi odklizec,

Thanks for helping us out. Your help is much appreciated :)

> We have installed Ranorex 8.3.2 trial version as you suggested.
> We have recorded a script on Chrome on Windows 7. We are trying to run the script on Android Emulator(Chrome Browser v55.0) through Appium.
> When we try to run the script, the Emulator Browser opens with the url whatever we've given and it searches for the element. Eventually it fails to find the element.
> I have attached the screenshot for your reference.
> Initially it was "mouse click" event, but that was not working. So we changed it to "touch". But this is also not working.
> We tried to track the element on the Emulator. But we could not.

Is there anything wrong? Kindly help us.
Attachments
Ranorex_Error.png
Ranorex_Error.png (382.35 KiB) Viewed 44 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Instrumentation Failed

Post by odklizec » Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:57 am

Hi,

If I understand it right, your original problem is now solved and there is a new issue? Next time, please create a new post, instead of using an old post for new problem ;) Thanks.

As for your new issue, well, I think that switching touch and click is useless as the main problem is, that Ranorex apparently cannot find the element in question. Hence it cannot click or touch it. Unfortunately, I'm not quite sure how to debug this kind of issue on webdriver? While using Desktop/Mobile endpoint, I would suggest to take the snapshot of entire DOM and examine if the xpath you have in repo really exists in the snapshot. But if I'm not mistaken, taking snapshots is not possible on webdriver? I would suggest to try to replace the unique identifier #'menu' in Forms xpath with @id='menu'. At next, try to reduce the xpath to just //div[@id='menu']//span[@innertext='Forms'], eventually just //span[@innertext='Forms'] or //*[@innertext='Forms'].
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration