Instrumentation Wizard can't find my device

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
tvu
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:47 pm

Instrumentation Wizard can't find my device

Post by tvu » Wed Oct 14, 2015 10:27 pm

I upgraded my iPhone 5 to iOS 9.0.2 from iOS 8.2 and now the Instrumentation Wizard can't find my phone via USB. I removed my device from the Manage Devices tool. I then went to bitly.com/mArchive to download the latest Service App and RxBrowser. I went back to the Manage Devices tool and tried to add it again, but it couldn't find it via the USB option. I had to manually added it with my UDID.

After manually adding my device, I can see it in the Devices window pane. When I have the Service App running, the Device window shows that I am running "No app running". When I have the RxBrowser app running, the Device window shows that I am running "RxBrowser". So I know Ranorex Studio can see and communicate with my device.

In Manage Devices, I can see that my device is connected. I select my device and click the "Deploy App" button. If I click the Deploy Ranorex Apps radio button, under Target USB Device it shows that "No USB devices found." It says the same thing if I try to install an IPA file.

I followed the instructions in the link before, but it didn't solve my issue.
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... sting.html

Setup
iPhone 5, iOS 9.0.2
Ranorex 5.4.2.25689
Windows 8.1 Enterprise
iTunes 12.3.0.44


Thanks.

tvu
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:47 pm

Re: Instrumentation Wizard can't find my device

Post by tvu » Wed Oct 14, 2015 10:41 pm

I just tried this same procedure on another desktop and Instrumentation Wizard did find my device, but it still doesn't work on my computer.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Instrumentation Wizard can't find my device

Post by Support Team » Thu Oct 15, 2015 12:39 pm

Hello tvu,

Thank you for the detailed explanation.

Please follow the steps below to reset the "trust settings" between the device and the machine:

1) Remove all devices from the 'Manage Devices'-dialog

2) Delete all files from the following directory:
- C:\Program Files (x86)\Ranorex 5.4\Bin\RxEnv\var\lib\lockdown

3) Reset warning dialogs
- Disconnect the iOS device
- Open iTunes and go to the 'Advanced Preferences'
- Click 'Reset warnings' as shown in the screenshot below
reset_warnings.png
reset_warnings.png (30.31 KiB) Viewed 1758 times
4) Delete the 'lockdown'-folder from the following directory:
- %ProgramData%/Apple

5) Reboot your machine and the iOS device

6) Reconnect your device via USB

After performing these steps, the device should be recognized again by your system.
Please also note that it is necessary to confirm the “Trust Dialog” on your device and your System when connecting the device again.

Please let me know if this solved the issue.

Regards,
Johannes
.
Image

tvu
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:47 pm

Re: Instrumentation Wizard can't find my device

Post by tvu » Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:18 pm

Thank you! That worked.

tvu
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:47 pm

Re: Instrumentation Wizard can't find my device

Post by tvu » Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:42 pm

I was able to successfully deploy my app the first time. I am getting the below error when I tried to deploy the app again. I am able to successfully deploy the app multiple times on my device with another computer using the same certificate and provisioning profile.

System.UnauthorizedAccessException: Access to the path 'embedded.mobileprovision' is denied.
at System.IO.Directory.DeleteHelper(String fullPath, String userPath, Boolean recursive)
at System.IO.Directory.Delete(String fullPath, String userPath, Boolean recursive)
at Ranorex.Plugin.Mobile.Tools.Ios.IosToolRunner.TempFolder.ResetFolder()
at Ranorex.Plugin.Mobile.Tools.Ios.IosToolRunner.Instrument(IIosOptions options, RxAction`2 progressCallback, String& instrumentedIpaPath)
at Ranorex.Plugin.Mobile.Tools.Ios.IosToolRunner.Instrument(IOptions options, RxAction`2 progressCallback, RxAction`1 msgCallback)
at Ranorex.Controls.Instrumentation.Workers.IosWorker.Run()
at Ranorex.Controls.Instrumentation.IosResultPage.bgw_DoWork(Object sender, DoWorkEventArgs e)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Instrumentation Wizard can't find my device

Post by Support Team » Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:03 am

Hello tvu,

Great to hear that you could solve the previous issue.

According to the error message it seems to be a permission problem.
May I ask if the current user has sufficient privileges to access the certificate and provisioning file?
Please try to start Ranorex with administrative privileges and deploy the app again.

Additionally, you could check whether the certificate or provisioning file is corrupted.

Please let me know if this solved the issue.

Regards,
Johannes
.
Image

tvu
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:47 pm

Re: Instrumentation Wizard can't find my device

Post by tvu » Fri Oct 16, 2015 7:59 pm

I replaced the certificate and provisioning files with working copies from my RunTime machine. I ran Ranorex as Administrator. I actually always run Ranorex as Adminstrator. My login account also has administrator level privileges. I am still getting the error.

I tried to use the command line Ranorex.Instrumentation.Exe and I get the same error.

Where else can I check to see if I have enough permission?

Thanks,
Tung

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Instrumentation Wizard can't find my device

Post by Support Team » Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:22 pm

Hello tvu,

It could be that the current folder, which contains the certificate, is 'Read-only'.
You could try moving the corresponding files to a different location (e.g. your desktop).

Additionally, I would suggest trying to delete the following temp-folder: %userprofile%\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio5\RxEnv\iOS\temp

Looking forward to your response.

Regards,
Johannes
.
Image

tvu
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:47 pm

Re: Instrumentation Wizard can't find my device

Post by tvu » Tue Oct 20, 2015 5:40 pm

Thanks Johannes!

Deleting the temp directory fixed the issue.

Tung