Integration of VS Code(open source tool) with Ranorex

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
abdul89
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:58 am

Integration of VS Code(open source tool) with Ranorex

Post by abdul89 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:06 am

Hi Ranorex Team,

Can we integrate Visual Studio Code (open source tool) with Ranorex Studio ?

Our project management are checking if this is possible ?

Visual Studio Code Website : https://code.visualstudio.com/

Thanks
Abdul

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Integration of VS Code(open source tool) with Ranorex

Post by odklizec » Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:09 am

Hi,

Have you tried the VS integration steps? Of course, you will have to adapt some steps according to the menus in your tool. I don't VS Code, but I guess it should allow to reference libs as well as to create console-based apps? And that should be all you need for successful integration.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Integration of VS Code(open source tool) with Ranorex

Post by krstcs » Mon Oct 15, 2018 2:38 pm

Since Ranorex is essentially a .NET library, you can link and reference it in your VSCode projects.

However, you will be missing/losing several of the most important features that make Ranorex better than just using VS Coded UI Test, such as the Repository and Report generation. You would either have to manage these yourself or not use them at all (which would not be a good idea).

For example, not using the Ranorex Repository means that you are likely hard-coding your element locations, which violates the separation of duties principle of software development. Your script should be separate from the SUT element definitions so if you have to change one element, it is changed for the whole project from the repository, instead of having to find each instance in code. It also means that several of the most powerful parts of the API would not be usable since you wouldn't be using RepoItemInfo objects.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Integration of VS Code(open source tool) with Ranorex

Post by Aracknid » Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:03 pm

edit: Sorry for the double post.

{snip snip]
Last edited by Aracknid on Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Integration of VS Code(open source tool) with Ranorex

Post by Aracknid » Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:06 pm

Another point of view....

I don't use VS Code (I use Visual Studio), but I don't use the repository either. And if you code your work intelligently, it's absolutely not a problem. When something changes in my application, I only have to change it in one place too. I also don't use the reports. I have my own system for that. True, it was a lot of work, probably more than using the Ranorex provided methods, but we already had them before we started using Ranorex and ported over from our old automation tool to Ranorex.

Aracknid.