Interrupting test automation

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
Ralf
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 2:21 pm

Interrupting test automation

Post by Ralf » Thu May 10, 2012 10:44 am

Hi Again,

I do an automated test for a quite big software, so I turned Ranorex quite fast. Because of problems, that some acions do not work always, I inserted a loop for every action (e.g. Selection in a ComboBox) that tries to to it 100 times, before it cancels the test. My test software has no form or dialog.

So it is quite hard for me to interrupt my test sequence, because in every action of my test automation Ranorex will take control of my mouse.

So did anyone already implement something like an cancel routine for his test automation software?
For example, it runs until its finished, has an error or I press the "F12" key on the keyboard?

Thanks for your help
Ralf

User avatar
artur_gadomski
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 6:55 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Interrupting test automation

Post by artur_gadomski » Thu May 10, 2012 1:32 pm

I think there's an abort button you can set. I just struggle with Ranorex over the mouse and close console in which it's running :D

carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: Interrupting test automation

Post by carsonw » Thu May 10, 2012 7:33 pm

Hopefully I'm not misunderstanding your question - but to abort during runtime you can just press the "Pause" button on your keyboard :)