Invoke Action doesn't work now

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Shruti
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:13 am

Invoke Action doesn't work now

Post by Shruti » Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:48 pm

Invoke action is not working in my test now.
I am unable to figure out the reason for the same.
I am using Firefox 24.0 and Ranorex 4.1.4 .16685 installed.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Invoke Action doesn't work now

Post by krstcs » Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:39 pm

Without more information we will not be able to help. Please include more information about the problem, and be as specific as possible.

If you can post a snapshot of your SUT, and a sample test solution that demonstrates the problem that would be helpful.

See this page for creating a snapshot:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... files.html
Shortcuts usually aren't...

Shruti
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:13 am

Re: Invoke Action doesn't work now

Post by Shruti » Thu Jan 30, 2014 7:35 am

Hello,

Thanks for your response.
I have attached the element snapshot.
Also, please refer the below screenshots of my recording and browser details.
performClick.png
performClick.png (90.27 KiB) Viewed 989 times
firefox_details.png
firefox_details.png (148.85 KiB) Viewed 989 times

Also, If I look at the report, it says that perform Click action was performed successfully.

Adding part form report:
00:07.005 Info Invoke Action

Invoking PerformClick() on item 'ProjectCreationTool.LoginControls.LoginButton'


Please note that the same is working in Chrome but not in Firefox.

Regards,
Shruti
Attachments
Login_Button.rxsnp
(24.02 KiB) Downloaded 126 times

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Invoke Action doesn't work now

Post by krstcs » Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:25 pm

I would recommend using Click() instead of PerformClick().

The InvokeAction requires the events to be set up correctly in the AUT, and in this case it doesn't appear to be the case. Some application frameworks and some developers do things in ways that InvokeAction cannot manipulate correctly. This isn't something that Ranorex can "fix", it has to be done by the developers of your AUT.

Unless you know for sure that the event will fire using the PerformClick, I would suggest that you stick to the Click action instead.
Shortcuts usually aren't...