Is automation of WPF application supported by ranorex 5.3.1?

Ask general questions here.
deepak1920
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 5:04 pm

Is automation of WPF application supported by ranorex 5.3.1?

Post by deepak1920 » Sat Feb 13, 2016 5:23 pm

Hello,

I am automating one WPF application on windows10 using ranorex 5.3.1.

My test scripts are failing intermittently. Does ranorex 5.3.1 not support WPF on windows10?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Is automation of WPF application supported by ranorex 5.3.1?

Post by odklizec » Mon Feb 15, 2016 9:16 am

Hi and welcome here,

Ranorex 5.3.1 is pretty old and no longer supported version. I would suggest to try the latest 5.4.5 (even in trial mode) to see if it solves your WPF-related problems.

There has been introduced new WPF plugin in 5.3.0 and there were issued also some critical WPF-related bug fixes and enhancements in later versions. So it's highly recommended to upgrade to latest 5.4.5.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Is automation of WPF application supported by ranorex 5.3.1?

Post by krstcs » Mon Feb 15, 2016 4:22 pm

In addition to what Pavel said (you should always keep Ranorex up-to-date), intermittent issues tend to be due to timing issues. Try adding short delays or using WaitFor.Exists/NotExists actions in the areas of your modules and test cases that are causing problems.
Shortcuts usually aren't...