Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Ask general questions here.
User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by Aracknid » Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:47 pm

Currently using FF 52.3 ESR and 57 beta 9. Also Ranorex 7.2.

I've been doing a bunch of things with FireFox lately as per a few of my previous posts... and I noticed that it takes my scripts a much longer time to find the elements in firefox than in IE or Chrome.

For example, I ran a script in all three and it took about 3-4 times longer to run in Firefox than the other 2. I noticed in my logs that this is because it is taking so much more time to find elements. In IE my scripts took about 8 minutes. In Chrome about 12, but in Firefox it took 33 minutes. Same script and same server testing against.

So as another test I launched spy and went to a page that has an element from the test I was running. The layout is as such; DOM/Body/IFrame/....many ...many elements...//input[#'Q90']

If I click on the IFrame and then edit the path in Spy to append //input[#'Q90'], in IE it takes about 3 seconds to find it. In Chrome, about 3 seconds. In FF it takes about 9. The funny thing is that on Spy's status bar at the bottom left, it says "One element found. Building the result tree" for about 8 seconds of those 9 seconds.

Also, I've recently uninstalled all FF versions and then only installed FF 52.3 just to make sure no interference from the beta. Didn't seem to make any difference.

Is there anything I can do to make FF faster? And yes, the latest FF plug-in is installed.

Thanks,

Aracknid

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by krstcs » Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:57 pm

Unfortunately, as per several other FF/Rx7.2 slowness posts around here, there isn't much that you can do. It is most likely an issue with the new FF plugin for Ranorex. Since FF is changing the way it does plugins (read, jumping on the Chromium band-wagon) Ranorex had to change how it's FF plugin works. They are wanting any feedback on it you can give, so you might ping them via email ([email protected] or [email protected]).

So, this is a known issue, and there likely isn't anything you can do.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3954
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by odklizec » Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:03 pm

Hi,

I can confirm this behaviour too. Unfortunately, our tests running in FF are noticeably slower than in IE or Chrome.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by Aracknid » Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:04 pm

Didn't realize others were having similar issues. I had a quick look but didn't see the posts.

Ranorex people, if you want any more info from me, let me know.

Thanks,

Aracknid.

qwertzu
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by qwertzu » Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:19 pm

Hey Aracknid,
This topic was already discuessed here: https://www.ranorex.com/forum/viewtopic ... 993#p45993
Seems like the Ranorex guys are already working on this and additionally they seem to be looking for more customers sharing a sample application on which such performance issues appear.
regards, qwertzu

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3954
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by odklizec » Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:39 pm

Hi,

I just found a perfect example of slow Ranorex operations in FF and sent the sample solution to Ranorex support. Basically, it's enough to enumerate some elements on web page (e.g. links) and move mouse to each found link. At Ranorex.com, my sample solution finishes well under 1m in IE and Chrome, while in FF it takes around 3m! So there is definitely something wrong with FF plugin.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Product Management
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by Product Management » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:27 pm

Hello,

we took your concerns seriously and worked hard to speed up the automation for Firefox. I am glad to tell you that we have succeeded and improved the performance of the Firefox plugin up to factor 2. :D

It will be available in the upcoming release 8.1. If you are eager to try it out immediately, feel free to sign up for the Ranorex Beta Program and you will receive the link to the latest Ranorex 8.1 beta version.
Note: Install the Firefox beta plugin (v1.1.0) by using the Ranorex instrumentation wizard from the beta installation.

Please provide us your feedback by using the Ranorex Studio Beta start page or by posting on this thread.


Best regards
Ranorex Product Management Team

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3954
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:33 pm

Thanks for such great news! I will give it a try as soon as possible ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by Aracknid » Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:35 pm

Just to set our expectations, what did you mean by "improved the performance of the Firefox plugin up to factor 2"?

Is it 2 times faster than before, so still slower than IE? Or is it 2 times faster than IE? Or should we just expect it to be about the same as IE and Chrome now?

Thanks

Aracknid.

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by ahoisl » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:37 pm

Aracknid wrote:Is it 2 times faster than before...
Yes, the firefox plugin should be two times faster than before, measured on the underlying communication mechanisms. The outcomes for specific websites or use cases may very slightly.
Aracknid wrote:... so still slower than IE?
Not necessarily, this heavily depends on the website and use case. Every browser is quicker on some specific things and slower on others when compared to each other.

Best is, you give it a shot and subscribe to the Beta program :-)

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3954
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by odklizec » Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:45 am

I'm happy to confirm that FF plugin runs definitely faster in 8.1. In fact, it appears to be even faster than Chrome plugin! Good job!
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Is FireFox slower to find elements?

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:24 am

Hello Pavel,

Thank you for the feedback. We really appreciate it!

Best regards,
Bernhard
.
Image