Is it possible to highlight an Element from Usercode?

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
User avatar
Andymann
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 12:22 pm
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Is it possible to highlight an Element from Usercode?

Post by Andymann » Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:06 am

Hi everybody,

I think the question is rather straightforward. This would provide a good ways of debugging Usercode while testing various things.



Best regards,
Andy
Vorsprung durch Wahnsinn
www.Doktor-Andy.de

User avatar
Vega
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 2:15 pm

Re: Is it possible to highlight an Element from Usercode?

Post by Vega » Wed Aug 17, 2016 3:23 pm

You can use the highlighter through the following steps:

1) Manually add reference to “Ranorex.Controls.dll” from the program files / Ranorex / bin folder to your project

2) Update your project to compile against .NET 4.5 or later via project settings and the “compile” tab because Ranorex.Controls library requires it.

And here is what my sample code looks like:
highlighter.png
highlighter.png (9.95 KiB) Viewed 1146 times

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Is it possible to highlight an Element from Usercode?

Post by krstcs » Wed Aug 17, 2016 4:58 pm

While Vega's solution might work right now, this mechanism is NOT officially SUPPORTED by Ranorex as it is an internal API and could change at any time WITHOUT WARNING!

Use it at your own risk.

To see the full public API see this link: http://www.ranorex.com/Documentation/Ranorex/
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Andymann
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 12:22 pm
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to highlight an Element from Usercode?

Post by Andymann » Thu Aug 18, 2016 12:20 pm

Hey guys,

I will have a look at it.
Thanks a lot to both of you!
Vorsprung durch Wahnsinn
www.Doktor-Andy.de