is it possible to reuse an existing testsuite on mobile?

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
tgoldber
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:51 am

is it possible to reuse an existing testsuite on mobile?

Post by tgoldber » Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:59 am

I have a testsuite which is testing the mobile version of our website.

Now we want to jump from browser to the actual device.

Is there a way to just run the test suite on the mobile device either via Ranorex browser or via native Browser (Android-Chrome, IOS-Safari) or do I have to rewrite the Test?

thanks for the help :-)

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: is it possible to reuse an existing testsuite on mobile?

Post by odklizec » Thu Apr 21, 2016 3:06 pm

Hi,

You will definitely have to use RxBrowser for testing web pages on Android/iOS. There is simply no way to use system-own or 3rd party non-instrumented browsers with Ranorex (Android/iOS security limitation).

As for re-using your existing testsuite with RxBrowser, it all depends on how generic/browser independent are the xpaths behind the repository elements. You will most probably have to adapt some things here or there in your repo, but generally speaking, it should work. But again, it all depends on how good is your repository ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

tgoldber
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:51 am

Re: is it possible to reuse an existing testsuite on mobile?

Post by tgoldber » Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:22 pm

I feared that answer, but I somehow knew that there is just no way around.
Thanks anyway!