Is Ranorex is used to generate code coverage?

Ask general questions here.
satishpkumarin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:35 pm

Is Ranorex is used to generate code coverage?

Post by satishpkumarin » Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:40 pm

Hi,

Is Ranorex can be used to get/generate code coverage when we test GUI.
If so, I am unit testing a windows application using .Net 3.5 framework which uses devx express controls. I am interested to know whether Ranorex can help me in getting code coverage when I start testing the GUI.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:51 am

Hi,

I'm sorry, but Ranorex does not provide any code coverage functionality.

best regards,

Christoph
Ranorex Support Team

satishpkumarin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:35 pm

Does Ranorex supports Devx Express controls.

Post by satishpkumarin » Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:24 pm

Hi
thanks for the reply however I am also interested to know if RanoRex supports devx express controls.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:36 pm

In general, DevExpress controls are supported. However, the XtraPivotGrid and XtraScheduler controls are not fully supported (relative coordinates will be used by the RanorexRecorder) as these controls miss MSAA support. See the following forum thread for more info:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/developere ... -t606.html

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team

satishpkumarin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:35 pm

Post by satishpkumarin » Wed Mar 04, 2009 6:58 am

Thanks for the response..

In my application I am using Devx express controls, when i ran ranorex I got a typical error
Failed to find item 'cell_Abc_Number_row_0' using cached folders,trying again without cache. (You might want to disable caching for the parent folder of this item).

what should I do for this.. This error is because of devx express controls.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:43 pm

In general this is not an error, but a warning and the element should still be found. You can disable caching for that folder to disable the warning in the log file. Is the 'cell_Abc_Number_row_0' element found, anyways?

Please, could you post some more information on the DevExpress control that warning is generated with? Please, post all attributes listed in the 'Detail' tab of RanorexSpy when spying the DevExpress control or send a Ranorex snapshot of the control to support_at_ranorex.com. Thanks!

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team