Issue compiling using dotnet (instead of msbuild)

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
PR.Paul.H
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 11:03 pm

Issue compiling using dotnet (instead of msbuild)

Post by PR.Paul.H » Tue Aug 06, 2019 3:25 pm

Not a show stopper but does Ranorex support compiling using .Net Core? i.e. 'dotnet build' ? I'm inheriting some work from a former developer and was attempting it on a whim but saw errors that it could not resolve the references to Ranorex.

User avatar
N612
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:01 pm

Re: Issue compiling using dotnet (instead of msbuild)

Post by N612 » Tue Aug 06, 2019 7:09 pm

Supported? I would say no since it is a deviation from the current design, not tested, and can lead to unintended behavior. Possible? Potentially, but I have never seen it used by anyone. If you don't mind me asking, what is the benefits of building with .Net core & dotnet build over using the standard MSBuild? Are you experiencing issues with MSBuild?

khapekar.rohit
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:16 am

Re: Issue compiling using dotnet (instead of msbuild)

Post by khapekar.rohit » Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:23 am

Ranorex support the compiling using dotnet. Here they provide the .sln file. You can just open in visual Studio and build it.
Please let me know if you need any details.

shrinidhi
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 12:20 pm

Re: Issue compiling using dotnet (instead of msbuild)

Post by shrinidhi » Thu Sep 03, 2020 12:26 pm

I tried changing the framework to .net core in visual studio but still getting errors and unable to open the ranorex solution. Does ranorex support .net core 3.1?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6188
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Issue compiling using dotnet (instead of msbuild)

Post by odklizec » Fri Sep 04, 2020 6:52 am

Hi,

I seriously doubt that current Ranorex version supports .Net Core 3.1. As far as I know, Ranorex currently supports .Net 4.x and there was never introduced any special support for .Net Core at all. So if it does not work, you are most probably out of luck and all you can do is to make a feature request here:
https://uservoice.ranorex.com/forums/15 ... ve-ranorex
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration